Holland Windmills


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » Rotterdam
August 6th 2008
Published: August 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke up in the morning at about 6:30 and then got dressed and waited awhile and around 7:30 we got our free breakfast. They had this buffet thing and there was some bread and deli meat and cheese and then there was this good nutty cereal with raisins that I got Cindy to try (without the raisins) and I think she liked it. There was also this good pineapple juice. After breakfast we had to go shopping to get my dad a towel, and Cindy got some sneakers that she liked. Then we came back and dropped our stuff off and went to get some lunch from that same gas station shop, but this time since it was during the day we could get freshly made stuff. I had a healthy baguette. It was really called healthy... "Gezond" which is healthy in Dutch is what they rung it up as! After that we wandered around in search of a post office, which we found to get a box that I packed with some stuff I didn't need right away to send to Gerd. So hopefully my suitcase will be lighter tomorrow when I go to London! Then it was time for our journey to Kinderdijk... We had a lot of trouble with the buses and the metro and stuff. It would have been much easier to just take the Eurorail. But at one bus stop we found this nice couple who was taking the same bus as us so they helped us out and when the bus to Kinderdijk didn't show up they got a friend to drive us there. So we got to see some cool windmills and walk around and then me and Cindy found this farm place and there was this cat and these cows and some sheep. By the time we got back, the Souviner shop and restuarant thingy was closed 😞 So we found a bus stop and hopped on a bus to Rotterdam. Then when we got back to an area with open restaurants we ended up having to eat at McDonald's because stupid Cindy doesn't like anything besides chicken. I hope we don't eat at another McDonald's while we're here! Cindy needs to try new things. So yeah... that was pretty much our day, now I'm back here typing and we have to wake up at 6 tomorrow in order to get to London. But Holland was an interesting experience, I got to wander the city, eventually I got to see windmills and try on some wooden shoes that were too big for me... and I also got to show off the few words I knew of Dutch and one girl complemented that I had a good accent for Dankuwel (thank you) and my dad could never remember any Dutch words! I even learned something new... Kip means chicken!


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb