Spoorweg (train) Museum, Utrecht, Nederland


Advertisement
Published: December 20th 2019
Edit Blog Post

I only had one month to explore the Southern Netherlands. Leaving Haarlem I took a morning train to Utrecht Centraal (with only four days and nights in beautiful Utrecht), then rode a taxi to my B&B hotel. My hotel window had a great view of the Spoorweg (train) Museum; and the unused RR tracks ran right behind my hotel. I opened my large upstairs window and got a good breeze; and wondered if I should take a nap or explore Utrecht.

It was quickly time for me to see some beautiful neat old trains. I think the admission price was sixteen Euros, and well worth it. This was the most wonderful train museum this old country boy has ever seen!

They had expensive neat trash cans everywhere with a train on the front of each can. (There was no trash laying around.)

I started with the Maliebaan Station with many good exhibits and a good restaurant; but I had no time to eat there.

I crossed the railroad tracts and moved on to the wonderful Open Depots with many perfectly restored trains. I started out viewing the attractive olive train # 2104. I quickly started burning mega-pixels (in Texas we call it "shooting").

Then I visited a very blue passenger car. There was also the nice train # 1010.

I went outside to shoot the nifty old engine # 103, and two chemical tank RR cars.

Back inside the depot was the nice engine # 311. They had a handy upstairs catwalk to get a great view of the nice trains below. They also had the elevated engine # 13 to view eye to eye from the catwalk. I was shooting "like a fox chasing a rabbit" from this impressive view.

Back on the ground level was the neat engine # 1201 that had portable stairs for an inside view...so I took a peek. I saw the nice engine # 3737 and walked more. The very nice wooden passenger (or restaurant) car got my attention, so I shot it. The old-timer train A was complete with an old-timer tourist. The old-timer train B was neat by itself. I did more walking, looking, and shooting; then ended my very enjoyable Open Depot visit with photos of famous Dutchmen.

Outside I crossed more RR tracts and viewed the outside of the colourful Fire Test
view from my B&B window sycamore treesview from my B&B window sycamore treesview from my B&B window sycamore trees

Spoorweg Museum & nice sycamore trees
Building. There were other good exhibit buildings; but they looked to me like they were geared to children (great idea)...so I did not visit them.

I started my slow walk back to Maliebaan Station viewing more nice trains.

In the front (outside) the station I visited the Dutch WW2 Memorial and made a silent prayer. That was very dark days for all of Europe and elsewhere in the world.

Leaving the Spoorweg Museum I found the convenient Spoorweg bus stop. Hot dang...my door to public transportation in Utrecht.

I was very tired but was burning daylight; so I walked on to my next adventure in beautiful Utrecht!

work in progress


Additional photos below
Photos: 81, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.1068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb