Botanische Tuinen (Botanical Garden), Utrecht, Netherlands


Advertisement
Published: March 2nd 2023
Edit Blog Post

The owner-manager of my Hotel B&B told me about the University Utrecht Botanical Garden and showed me how to find this very nice place.

I paid the reasonably priced entry fee and was not disappointed. First thing I walked up the hillside steps and sat on a bench to enjoy the view. Then I walked the garden and saw many colourful flowers that were growing everywhere.

I liked the carniverous plants that had different ways to capture flies and other insects. (These plants are in the USA, but are seldom seen.)

The building by the exit was covered with beautiful flowering vines. I had a delightful visit to Botanische Tuinen. This botanical garden was established in 1639 AD; making it one of the oldest gardens in Europe.

Walking back to my hotel I passed some very nice old buildings. Then I followed a nice canal that I think was a free city park.

My last stop was at Albert Heijn (the national grocer chain) and got some food and drinks to take back to my hotel; to complete a very good day.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Botanische TuinenBotanische Tuinen
Botanische Tuinen

vegetation (top of hill)
Botanische TuinenBotanische Tuinen
Botanische Tuinen

conifer (top of hill)
Botanische TuinenBotanische Tuinen
Botanische Tuinen

seat with a view (top of hill)
Botanische TuinenBotanische Tuinen
Botanische Tuinen

rest break (top of hill)
Botanische TuinenBotanische Tuinen
Botanische Tuinen

other bench, still resting (top of hill)
Botanische TuinenBotanische Tuinen
Botanische Tuinen

Spotty Dotty
Botanische TuinenBotanische Tuinen
Botanische Tuinen

Spotty Dotty


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb