Arrival in Haarlem, Netherlands


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Haarlem
May 3rd 2017
Published: December 5th 2021
Edit Blog Post

This was my second time I flew KLM from Houston, Texas to Schiphal Airport serving Amstertdam. (On long flights on USA owned airlines I would get a free little bag of peanuts.) My flights on KLM were five stars with very friendly flight attendants. I was served (free) two hot meals and fruits and other snacks on my overnight flight.

I reserved my first stay at the Amadeus Hotel in Haarlem. Haarlem is a very nice old historic town (a short train ride to Amsterdam) with hotels running about a quarter the price of staying in Amsterdam. I enjoyed the small town with good friendly people, neat historic buildings, nice city parks and nice canals.

On this visit I was going to meet up with good TravBuddy friends (that I have never met) in Amsterdam and in Southern Netherlands.

With only a month to stay in Holland I had no time to get lazy. Without sleeping on my overnight flight I did not have much energy for the one KM walk drom the Haarlem train station to my hotel. Fortunately the Amadeus Hotel let me check in early and drop off my luggage. I did make a nice short walk around Haarlem, and had a seat on a bench by a nice canal.

The next morning I had a good free breakfast at the Amadeus Restaurant. This was a big day cuz a TB friend was going to be my guide on a walking tour of Haarlem and Amsterdam.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Grote Markt (City Square)Grote Markt (City Square)
Grote Markt (City Square)

Amadeus Hotel in center


Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb