You can never go wrong with a town that smells like Chocolate


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
June 18th 2010
Published: June 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Emiel and I decided to get out of the city town and took the train Koog-Zaandijk which took about 15 minutes to get there. It is a small town that has many windmills. There is one called "De Bleeke Dood" which means the Pale Death, must say this was my favorite windmill. We walked along the river where there were about 7 windmills in a room. I went into one for 3, 00 EUR, it was pretty neat, this particular one use to make paint. Oh yeah did I mention the town smelt like chocolate yes that is just pure heaven, there is a chocolate factory there but we could not find a shop that sold it.
The weather was a little gloomy while we where there and rained a little bit but it cleared up once we headed back to Amsterdam.

Once we got back we went to the Jewish Museum which to me was a waste of time and was not what I expected it to be and was for sure not worth the 9,00 EUR
Afterward we went looking for some other place which I don't remember what is called because it was closed by the time we got there, so we went for a canal cruise instead. It was relaxing but we had already seen everything that was on the tour.

We went and had some beer in an Irish pub before heading back to the apartment where we are now while I write this.
I take the train to Maastricht tomorrow morning.



Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



18th June 2010

Hoe gaat het?
"De Bleeke Dood" That's awesome.. If I were in a band with a bunch of Dutch doods I would totally name it that..
18th June 2010

Haha
Dood, love the shoes.. They totally fit..
22nd June 2010

Looks like your having so much fun! I'm so happy for you! It is a nightly ritual for Shawn and I to sit around the computer and read your new blogs. We love your updates! Love the pictures so much! And we love you. Have a great day!
1st April 2011
SDC10387

so sweet ;-)

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0909s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb