Brew you ride


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
June 17th 2010
Published: June 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I woke up at 6:00 am and just layed in bed looking out the window watching people start there day from the apartments across from me, they are a rock through away. I had a croissant with cheese for breakfast before heading out to concourse Amsterdam alone.
I first headed to The Anne Frank house which was not far from where I was stayed plus we walked by it yesterday so I knew where it was. I only had to stand in line for about 5 mins which was not as bad as some stories I’ve heard about waiting half and hour. You were not allowed to have cameras in there so sorry no pics. The lay out of the place was done very well. You learnt about Anne and her family going through each room before actually getting to the hidden rooms. There was pure white walls that had black exerts from Anne’s diary.

I then headed to the Torture museum which not far, it was pretty neat, they explained what each device was used for and they had some very interesting was of making people talk.

After that I had a Falafel which so good I could have gone for another one.
The next party of my day was great because I went to the Heineken Experience were you get a tour of an old brewery. They showed the process of making beer and the history of then company. We went on a “ride” on a moving platform that is made to feel like you are the beer you are going through the brewing processes. Then at the end you get 2 free beer num num.

I then got myself lost on purpose doing up and down streets exploring, while slowly making my way back to central to meet up with Emiel. I think that is the best was to experience Amsterdam, just wander and get lost. You see interesting shop and building.

Once I meet up with Emiel we went Speaker’s Corner which is a CS language learning get together. People teach other people which every language someone is will to teach. Emiel teaches beginning Dutch so that’s where I went, it is not an easy language to learn because of the mucus parts.
Afterward we went to a pub had a few drinks with everyone before heading back here to sleep, jet leg caught up to me again.

Anne Frank House = 10,00 EUR(Including postcards)
Torture Museum = 7,50 EUR
Heinken Experiece = 15,00 plus 9,00 EUR for souviners
falafel = 3,00 EUR
Fries & mayo = 2,50 EUR
Beer(2) = 4,50 EUR



Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



18th June 2010

Hallo
Eat something with syrup on it and you'll have no problem with the "mucus parts" of the language.. Doe voorzichtig! Hou van je, Mis je.. -Aaroooon..
18th June 2010

Goedemorgen
Dude a heineken stein!! Love the pics mang; wouldn't want to mess with the Dutch and get thrown in the torture chamber though.. Een goede dag verder! -Aaroooon..
21st June 2010

hey lorriann so good to hear that you are having a great time, love the pics. Miss you love you, take care.

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0878s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb