*Parents read at own risk…lol* Amsterdam is everything and more than I dreamt it to be [:D]


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
June 30th 2009
Published: July 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Steve rolling my first joint in the Dam *coughSteve rolling my first joint in the Dam *coughSteve rolling my first joint in the Dam *cough

...in the Dam *cough* i mean ever!
The train ride form Dusseldorf was 2.5 hours which is awesome. I was only a 5 minute walk to Bob’s hostel and I was pleasantly surprised hat it’s actually in the Red Light District. I checked in and then dragged my stuff up 4 flights of steep steps that are so small you can only just get your footing on . I got setup and as I was doing so I met an Irish man (well he’s 20) called Steve, and he’s extremely hard to understand. He speaks quite softly and he has a really thick Irish accent, he said that he’s from Cork and he can speak some native language as in he uses different words for things and it won’t make sense.
Anyway…he said he was going out on a coffee shop crawl by himself so I asked if I could tag along. Just wandering through Amsterdam to get there was bizarre. There were already women in some of the windows, next to women there might be a café or food store. When we got to our first stop called the New World Coffee shop, it was the strange and surreal to be able to walk in to a store and look at a menu of all the different weed that they sell. I bought a gram of Northern Lights, I didn’t smoke it as Steve was ore than happy to use some of what he had bought (10 bags of different types!). He rolled a spliff in a strange backwards way and then we sparked up, it was very nice and smooth, not sure what type as there is way too many, he had also put some hash in it 😄. We chilled for 10 minutes or so and then Steve wanted to move, not my style but OK.
As we left I saw Ross and Patrick (the guys I met in Berlin, what a coincidence), I called their names and we had a quick chat. They were just about to head in to the shisha bar just across the street, I tagged along and we got some tea and a shisha where they offered to put our weed in! There ended up being 4 types in it as we all through some in, crazy shit! We chillaxed for an hour or so and then I thought it was about time to have a nap, I have been told it is not uncommon for there to always be at least 1 person in your room having a nap…LOL!
I had a sleep and then rose from my slumber slightly more refreshed than when I went in to it. Steve got and was just about to head out again so I got dressed and went out to. We decided we would head to the Greenhouse a pretty well known shop that has one a fair few awards in the Cannabis Cup, from their I bought 1 gram of Hawaiian Snow which was a sativa (a nice and light high). I tried the Hawaiian Snow from the Volcano Vaporiser which you could use for free in the shop 😄, it was really cool, it was like smoking but not. You would blow out a smokey residue but it wouldn’t make you cough and it didn’t taste like smoke, damn cool! Steve rolled another joint (this guy just wanted to smoke non-stop, as it was my first day I couldn’t object) and we sat outside and finished that phat-boy.
From there we went to Homegrown Fantasy, Steve had been before and said it was pretty cool and it was. I bought a gram of Sour Diesel (an Indica, for night time it’s ok to get a bit more baked) yet again Steve was first to raise his hand to test his new weed and yet again I was more than happy for him too. After that I tapped out and said no more, we went to the common room at the hostel which is right at the reception. You can smoke green but NO CIGARETTES, which I thought was funny yet cool. Steve skinned up again, JESUS! I had had enough but couldn’t reject this peace offering gesture (almost like an olive branch).
We finished that and Steve then suggested we should explore the Red Light District, hell yeah! I navigated our way to the appropriate area, it was mind blowingly odd to see all these gorgeous women (some not so gorgeous) in windows gesturing for you to come inside. We walked up and down a few different streets to see what was available and found that it’s reasonably priced…I guess? 30EUR for gobbies, 40 EUR for sex or 50EUR for both. That’s what the Irish guys that I had met in Berlin said when I bumped in to them again, it’s such a small world! After a bit more window shopping we head back to the hostel, I went and showered and went to bed, Steve???
My first impression of Amsterdam, is that it is an absolutely laid back, chillaxed, extremely surreal and bizarre place. I still haven’t got use to going in to a shop, looking at a menu and then discussing, smelling and felling the green, saying I’ll take it, they weigh it bag it and your good to go . It’s like being in a dream world…good times! 😄


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

So strangeSo strange
So strange

Watching young and old in a ritual that has happened for thousands of years [:D].
The Volcano VaporiserThe Volcano Vaporiser
The Volcano Vaporiser

Crazt machine. I had heard about but never seen, and you could use it for free!!


Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb