Hawain Snow


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
May 19th 2009
Published: May 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post


Amsterdam.

A very beautiful city, which has canals that debunk my previous entry about Bruge being the Venice of the North.

In order to prevent any incrimination in my future career, I will not be providing any details about my stay in Amsterdam with an exception to several stories:

My first night I attended another pub crawl. With only 20 people, and enough free vodka for 100 people, the (american) bar crawl tour guides poured vodka down our throats.

These pub crawls are a great time; 6 bars all included in the price, 6 free drinks at the bars, and unlimited shots from 8:30-9:00 (presssure)...all for 13 euro and a huge headache the next day.

The next day, I met up with my friend that I met in Brussels. Being from California as well, we started talking about mexican food, and how it has been 1.5 years for him since having mexican food, and the equivalent of 1.5 years for me (11 days). There are some scattered Mexican restaraunts around Amsterdam and we decided to embark on a great journey to find one.

You've heard of Harold & Kumar go to White Castle? This is the 3rd in the series, Scott & Bill search for Mexican Food in Amsterdam. It took us 4 hours to find 1 place, even though we had a map and the location of the restaraunt (I have been really good at learning how to get around a place, Amsterdam has been the exception, I wonder why?). Once we got to the place, they did not open till 4pm. We decided to walk aimlessly for 2 more hours...Turning our quick stroll to get a bite to eat into a 6 hour search for mexican food. Once 4 pm hit, it was go time. Basically running there, we got there at 4 01. They weren't ready and needed 20 minutes.

That was like getting punched in the face.

Those were the worst twenty minutes of my life.

We finally got our mexican food. It was what you would expect in the Netherlands...terrible...but, at least we finally got it.


On the 19th, I hung out with my roommate (Israeli). We went to the Anne Frank house, and then were headed to the Van Gogh museum. All of a sudden, my new friend stops talking for 3 minutes, begins walking down the cobblestone roads like he is drunk, and says to me "I no feel good, I feel bad." He went back and slept till 7.

I do not know what it was that made him feel bad, maybe the air in amsterdam?

So I went to the Van Gogh museum and really enjoyed myself. While I was there I though of a conspiracy theory involving asians:

Why do asians take pictures and videos of everything at every second?

1) The Chinese/Japanese/Secret asian coalition is attempting to, essentially, get the blue prints of all the world. This is done by having all its people, take pictures and videotapes of every nook and cranny, every building, every little thing...Theory one: The asians will eventually use their knowledge of the layout of the world to take over.

2) The Chinese/Japanese/Secret asian coalition is attempting to track the actions of all of their citizens. Therefore, pictures and videos are required by the government, and are viewed by the government upon mandatory upload every night...Theory two: big brother.

I hope you all enjoyed that...





The Van Gogh museum was amazing, he was the ultimate transcendentalist of night.

Anywho, im off to the barcrawl again...The plan tomorrow is to go to the Amsterdam Zoo.

I will write when I am in.......................Berlin!



"If it snowed in hawaii, this is exactly what it would taste like"



Advertisement



19th May 2009

Your theories...
and the thought process involved clearly demonstrate what you've really been doing in Amsterdam.
20th May 2009

shopping and enjoying the museums :)

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb