Amsterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
August 30th 2008
Published: September 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

First of all, I´ve been having a really tough time finding computers that are able to upload my photos. I was able to get a bunch done this week, however, so hopefully I can get several entries out soon. Also, many of you have sent me messages or emails....I will respond, I promise! Once I return to the states I´ll be able to respond to messages. Finally, in an effort to save time and avoid messing with travelblog´s photo uploading software any more than I have to, I haven´t labeled any of the photos. I also probably won´t go into much detail either. If you have any questions about something or wonder what it is, just let me know!

When most people think of Amsterdam I think they automatically associate it with weekend craziness, stemming mostly from the Netherlands' tolerant approach to many social issues. I had always heard, and can now attest to the fact that, it is also a very scenic, unique city. I had just a very short time there, but was able to really take in the city by just walking around for almost an entire day.

Amsterdam is an incredibly dense city so there are a ton of bikes---you basically can´t get around by bike there. The train station has enough spots for something like 70,000 bikes. I was almost ran over by bikers no less than six times.

My first day there I went to the Anne Frank house, but other than that I just wandered the city, going up and down the canal grids. I spent a lot of time in Vondelpark, a park with numerous ponds and winding foot paths. There are a bunch of joggers and bikers going in and out of the park. One night I also met a friend from high school that is working near Amsterdam which was an added bonus! It was an incredibly short stay in Amsterdam but I definitely enjoyed myself.


Additional photos below
Photos: 59, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb