Kinda like NYC-Brooklyn Heights or The Village, that is


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
July 23rd 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yep, you guessed it! I made it to Amsterdam; Cheryl arrives at the Schiphol Airport in about 90 minutes and I will go to meet her there. I have only been here for about three hours and already have a favorable impression of the city. It is like a cleaner version of the nicer neighborhoods in NYC, only there are canals running down every street, even immediately outside the train station! If Brussels was buzzing, Amsterdam is absolutely swirling in activity; I knew it the moment I stepped out of the train station. But the people are nicer here, both compared to Belgium/France AND New York ;-) I wasn't sure what to expect given all that I have heard, but the brick buildings and tree-lined (canal-lined) cobblestonesque streets are just lovely, the transportation system is efficient and extensive (actually throughout Neth.), and it is definitely a European jewel. Only bad thing is the heavy construction going on all around the train station in town center 😞 By the way, since I probably won't go back and fill in the other days, the Netherlands has (?) hands-down been my favorite country on this trip so far, ESPECIALLY the oh-so-picturesque cozy little town of Leiden, which is between Den Haag (The Hague) and Amsterdam. I could DEFINITELY spend some time there--I was BEDAZZLED by Leiden! Oh gosh, that means I have to learn Dutch now, too. If only I had a magic genie to grant me the wish of speaking every language on the Earth... anyway here for a few days and then we're off to Rotterdam on Sunday! Stay tuned...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0751s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb