Belgium, day-before their Nat'l Holiday


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
July 20th 2008
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have been in Belgium now for four days and tomorrow leave for Den Haag (The Hague), Netherlands tomorrow. Seems only befitting that I will be out of the country on THEIR national holiday, like I did for France (was in Lux; returned to Lille, FR the day-after). Belgium is truly bilingual, and I've got neither French nor Flemish (AKA Dutch for the most part, with a national twist). But this is high tourist season and I have found English speakers in both Bruges/Brugge (that bilingual thing extends to how they name their cities, train stations, and street signs, too) and Bruxelles/Brussel (Brussels), the capital and where I am now. I like Belgium (esp. charming Bruges) although I admit in this land of craft brews I would enjoy it more if Jon were here. If only I had room in my backpack to buy all the things he would enjoy, even an encyclopedia and puzzle of all the Belgian labels! Brussels is truly buzzing with tourists; there seem to be a lot from Spain here (whereas in Lux, I found mostly Italian and Portuguese). I think I will be happy to return to the peace of the small town; so much easier to see most of it in a day and a half, like I have been doing! Anyway, please continue to pray for me that I have safe travels.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb