I was LIVE on Brussels Radio!


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
July 19th 2008
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oh my gosh--I was on Brussels 88.8 FM Radio, for a LIVE interview yesterday! I had just barely made it into the town center after getting off the train from Bruges, checking in at the youth hostel, and walking into the very fun "Use-It/Tourist Office for Young Travellers." There was a party going on in there, or at least the four people inside were super jovial and had apparently JUST moved their offices into the formerly-next-door-library's archive storage room (operation was previously headquartered in an out-of-the-way town called Ghent). A young woman working for the radio station was in there and waiting to do a live interview piece, and saw me as a "willing victim." The victim part was right--she was so nervous that she misquoted me the time I would have to hang around... and I ended up waiting almost an hour (I'm just too nice to say 'no, gotta go!'). But it was a lot of fun and we got pictures (if only I could find a way to download one for you). The funniest part is that she interviewed me in Dutch, and I responded in English, and neither she nor the radio station seemed to mind. In her shaking-hands-anxious-state, she even mixed up the order of the questions she had previously coached me to answer, and not knowing Dutch I responded as planned, but answered a different question that was yet to come! Oh well, at least I had my ten minutes of fame in Brussels--which makes up for the crazy-hard-I'm-so-lost city layout (DESPITE maps, which really don't help) AND the guy at the Kebab sandwicherie that just moved on to the next customer in line when I was having trouble ordering. I need at least one semester of French before I come back here!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.082s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb