Visiting Koninklijke Dierentuin Amsterdam Artis (Amsterdam Royal Zoo), Amsterdam, Netherlands


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
August 27th 2014
Published: November 13th 2023
Edit Blog Post

From Amsterdam Centraal Station I took a tram to the Amsterdam Royal Zoo. It was a good day and I had a lot to see at the zoo.

I started by their large open areas filled with buffalos, camels, emu, ostriches, and other animals. They had other outdoor sections with large turtles, bear, and other animals.

I moved on to the aquarium building. They had the normal selection of fish and sharks, and a number of other animals that I was not familiar with.

There was much more to see at the Amsterdam Zoo, but I had few days in Amsterdam and much more to see this day.

Since it was just across the street from the zoo, I walked to Hortus Botanicus, (Botanical Gardens). They had a nice selection of terrestrial and aquatic plants. I remember the butterflies and a good enjoyable time but lost all of my field notes for my four days in Amsterdam.

Completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Amsterdam ZooAmsterdam Zoo
Amsterdam Zoo

conifer tree


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb