Keukenhof (Tulip Garden), Amsterdam, Netherlands


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
May 17th 2015
Published: August 19th 2023
Edit Blog Post

I took my tour of Keukenhof from Amsterdam; and Keukenhof is a ways South of Amsterdam. From Centraal Station it was a short walk to a business on Damrak where I purchased a tour of Keukenhof for 50 Euros. This tour included round trip transportation and admission (for four hours) to Keukenhof. (Nearby on Damrak I found a good place for a favorable exchange for my USD to Euros.)

The bus took everybody to the Keukenhof parking by Lisse, Netherlands. Then the group walked a short distance to the Keunkenhof. We walked in and didn't have to wait in line for entry. There the tour dispersed and I got to walk alone for four hours through the very colourful botanical garden. I walked at a fast pace wanting to explore the entire garden; but the botanical garden was to large to see everything. The changing colour combinations of tulips and a variety of other flowers impressed me and inspired me to keep walking. At the end of four hours, I walked back to parking, then the bus drove everybody back to Amsterdam. This is a top level botanical garden.

Keukenhof was started in the early 1400s by Countess Jacoba
KeukenhofKeukenhofKeukenhof

tour bus parking
van Beieren; and the area was used for hunting to supply food for Teylingen Castle. Keukenhof Castle was built in 1641. In 1857 noted landscape architects, the Zocher brothers, redesigned the castle gardens to close that you can see today. With the effort of major Dutch flower bulb growers, in 1950 they opened the gardens to exhibit their spring flowering bulbs to the public.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 104, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



19th August 2023

Flower Power
TenX. Nice historical description of the Keukenhof. Beautiful pictures of Tulips. With compliments MiSter Walter.
19th August 2023

Keukenhof
Thanks vriend, I really enjoyed my visit to Keukenhof, and the rest of Netherlands.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb