Fun in Maastricht


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Limburg » Maastricht
January 16th 2006
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hamster WekenHamster WekenHamster Weken

It's Hamster Weken (week) at the main grocery store here, Albert Hein. Hamsters store food away, get it?
*Written January 16th, I had trouble getting on to the site to finish and publish the blog, so here it is, better late than never*


Hey all,

I can't say I'm having a peachy-keen time here... I'm still sick, getting a bit of a cough and it's hard to muster up the energy to galavant around town. So the last few days have been quiet.

I've been spending time in the house, watching movies, chatting with people. There's always someone around at any given time, and theres always something to do. I went to town a couple times, took a lot of pictures, went for some walks with Joel and Alice and whoever is around. I bought some boots! They're green!! I'm pretty excited about them.

Mostly I've been struggling to go to bed at a decent hour, and struggling with the idea that I have to be inside resting to get better while I'm wasting precious time. The result of which is I haven't been getting any healthier, because I'm still going out here and there. Went to a party the other night, was such a bad idea because I felt so
The MaasThe MaasThe Maas

We took a long walk along this river one day.
much worse the next day. Other than that I haven't done anything too wild. Mostly I just try to get out of the house sometime in the afternoon. I just need to get more sleep.

I'm learning how to juggle! Jesse has juggling balls and is really good, he's practicing to possibly be a street performer this summer. I'm also spending some time on the house guitar, just for fun.

So my new plan for travelling is...

Jan 17 - Fly from Eindhoven to London
Jan 22 - Fly to Scotland
Jan 26 - Fly to Dublin, Ireland
Jan 28 - Joel flies from Eindhoven to Dublin
Jan 29 - We fly from Dublin to Paris

After that, our plans are undecided. A possibility is taking a train from Paris to Geneva in Switzerland. Jesse has family there who we could probably stay with. All plans are open right now though.

So tomorrow morning I have to get on a train real early, get to Eindhoven, take a bus to the airport then I fly out from there... Seems like I've gotten so comfortable here in Maastricht already, its hard to leave again. I'm really looking forward to the UK though!

Wish me luck in the UK, and heres some more pictures of Maastricht for you. I hope everyone's doing okay, and having a good New Year!

can't wait for the kilts,
~Bev


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

AliceAlice
Alice

Ever the photographer
The "Park"The "Park"
The "Park"

The park that is not.
The "Park" continuedThe "Park" continued
The "Park" continued

Still the park that is not.
Houston, ready for takeoffHouston, ready for takeoff
Houston, ready for takeoff

This is a museum or something, not sure. What a great building though!
The MaasThe Maas
The Maas

It was a beautiful day.
Bike RescueBike Rescue
Bike Rescue

Trying to figure out how to get that bike.
Gas PricesGas Prices
Gas Prices

...and we think WE'VE got bad gas prices. By the way, I'm told that this is DOWN from a few weeks ago.
SpottySpotty
Spotty

I thought this tree looked really neat. It's all spotty, like it's from a painting.


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0885s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb