Week 2


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Limburg » Maastricht
September 20th 2007
Published: September 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, since I have last written, a few new things have happened. Not much happened last week during the week, but I had a long weekend this past weekend, and got to do a lot of really cool things.

On Friday we had a tour of Beethoven’s birthplace right here in Bonn, and then went to a “Beethovenfest” concert. The music was nice, but it wasn’t his best stuff that they played, and though classical music is good, I like it much better as background music while I’m doing other things.

On Saturday I slept in, and then my Host-father took me on a small tour of a few cool places here in Bonn.

On Sunday, I woke up early, and went to some more cool places around Bonn with both my host parents. First we went to this Garden with really old trees on the Rhein, and then we hiked up a mountain to this cool restaurant with an amazing view of the Rhein River Valley. Later that night, my host parent’s daughter and her boyfriend came from Wiesbaden for dinner. They were really nice, and I got to practice plenty of German with them.

On Monday (we had no classes) 3 other people from Furman (Sallie, Julie, and Jason) and I all took the train to Maastricht, Holland/The Netherlands. It was quite an adventure, because we really didn’t know where we were going, and none of us knew any Dutch. Julie’s host mother had told her about some cool caves that we could tour, so we set off trying to find those. It was supposed to be on this certain road (which led out in to the middle of farm country), but we kept going and couldn’t find it. Then we realized that we went way past where it was on the map, and ran back to try to make it in time for the last tour. We think we might have found it (nothing on the road had signs), but it was closed. We had fun trying to make it there though.

After that, we explored the city some more, and found this really awesome church. It was gigantic, and really, really nice.

We got back from Maastricht at around midnight (we had left for Maastrict at 9:30 am) and were really tired. It was rough to make it to class for 8:45 the next morning.

Well, that’s about all the news I have for now. Hope everyone is doing well, and I’ll talk to you later.

P.S. Don't forget I posted the link to my pictures in my last blog 😊


Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb