Coming Home...


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Gelderland » Arnhem
February 28th 2010
Published: February 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's been three months. It's been easily the best winter of my life. But all good things must come to an end... for now at least...

During my time here, I've helped Mirjam fix up her new house. I've grown accustomed to life here. I've also learned a great deal. Mijn nederlands is beter. My Dutch is getting better as well. I've been able to speak both long and short phrases, and hold very basic interactions in Dutch. Mirjam is impressed with my progress, I only wish I could have progressed faster. But sadly, Dutch is a language you can't directly translate into English. So it is slow to learn since a lot of words you can't associate with English counterparts.

Aside from that, I'm going to miss this place. It's become my home. Mijn thuis, mijn en Mirjam's thuis. My home, mine and Mirjam's home. We're both very convinced that this will work very nicely. When next we see each other face to face, I'll be here to stay, home to stay. It will be a whole year and then some before my 21st birthday, but that will be it, then we'll be together for all time.

Oh, a little side note to some of my teen friends at home who have yet to drink; thanks to Mirjam's father, I've tried just about every beer under the sky here in Holland. I gotta tell you guys, even when this beer is supremely better than anything we have back in the states. It is completely over-rated. Seriously, stick with pop and energy drinks. They taste better, are more refreshing, and they don't have nearly as many drawbacks. Better yet, drink some juice and milk, better for you. Brandy, forget it. Wine, forget it! Vodka, FORGET IT!! It's just not worth it, at best it tastes like bad throat medicine or nothing. And at worst it tastes like complete and utter rubbish. Although... Amstel wasn't too bad, even for beer...

This time tomorrow, I'll be on the plane heading home. At this moment I still don't know what my feelings about it are, perhaps it still hasn't sunk in yet. I've been here so long. I also know that I'll be back.

Well, that's all for now. I'll see you all when I get home!

Advertisement



1st March 2010

Welcome Home
Sounds like you had a terrific time, sorry it is coming to an end for you. Thanks for the advice on drinking. Good advice. I bet it is really difficult to be coming home and leaving Mirjam, but it sounds like you have long term goals which is a great thiing. Look forward to hearing some of your stories when you return. Safe travels. Peace, Mrs. Melvin
1st March 2010

Hey!
I'm glad to see you're coming home and I'm so happy that you found the right one. I'll miss you forever when you go to Holland next time but you'll always be in my heart! A true friend Forever, Nicole B.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb