My Trip to Europe + Scrap Photos


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Gelderland » Arnhem
November 23rd 2008
Published: November 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys,

My time in Europe is drawing to a close. I only just finished my packing, soon I will be hopping a train back to Dusseldorf, then a plane to Chicago, THEN a bus with wings to Traverse. I have included in this post, every single photo I took while over here in Europe, even the bad ones. So brace yourself!

I have seen many things here in Holland. I have seen Arnhem, the city where my beloved Mirjam lives. I have seen The Hague, the main seat of the dutch government, the home of the royal dutch family. I have seen Rotterdam, the modern/futuristic city that rivals Detroit in crime. I have also seen Amsterdam, where I have seen various things I will not discuss in detail to anyone, nor do I wish to recall many of them. I even accompanied Mirjam on one of her House-Hunting trips and it turned out to be the house she intends to buy, and most likely the one we both will be living in together.

I have been living here with Mirjam for an entire month. Our time together has only revealed that we are to continue our relationship, as she plans to visit me this coming spring back in the states. Staying here in Holland has only hardened my resolve to continue to learn about the dutch culture and way of life, even to include myself amongst them someday soon.

During my stay here, I feel I have grown up considerably. I have learned many things on this trip that have opened my eyes to what being an adult really means. I hope you all see a difference in me when I return, because I do.

I do not want to leave, to be honest. Though it may shock and surprise many of you, I see my trip back to Michigan, more a going-away trip than a homeward-bound trip. I have had a very peaceful start of a new life here in Holland, and my heart lies here. This is as much my home as Boyne City, and possibly more. I leave here back to the states only reluctantly, because I know that I have a responsibility to several things and people, affairs to wrap up, and preparations to make before I could possibly come back to Holland permenantly.

I love Boyne City, I love where I came from. I love all of the friends and family I have acquired along the way in my journey through childhood. But I fear that my journey through adulthood will be much further away from my roots than anyone could have guessed, even myself. I have grown to love Holland, and Mirjam even more. We still have a long way to go in our relationship, but despite all the hardships we will have to go through together along the way. Our future looks bright, and I hope all of you are proud of us, because I am.

Back in the United States right now, everyone is getting ready for Thanksgiving. Young children from America are learning what it means to be thankful. Unfortunately, I calculate that while everyone back in Michigan will be sitting down with friends and relatives for Thanksgiving Dinner. I will be crammed into a sardine can with wings, flying over Lake Michigan from Chicago. I may regret not being able to enjoy some good thanksgiving food this year, but I am still thankful for this. I am thankful that I had the courage, the resolve, and the maturity and spirit to follow what I believed in. I am thankful for my month with Mirjam in Europe, and I am thankful for our love.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone, I will see you all soon.

Love,

Jon


Additional photos below
Photos: 185, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



25th November 2008

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
Hi Jon, Thanks for the great trip. I braced myself for the bad photos, but didn't find any. They were all great, it looks like a wonderful part of the world. It will be very interesting to hear what Mirjam thinks of the United States when she visits in the Spring. Keep in touch and let us know. I'm sorry you're going to miss Thanksgiving dinner, but it sounds like it was worth it. Thanks again for sharing your trip with us we truly enjoyed it. Love, Aunt Connie

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb