Podgorica and beyond


Advertisement
Europe » Montenegro » Podgorica
July 4th 2014
Published: August 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

This part of my trip was another special time, because I was again able to reconnect with friends. I met Karsten and Birte in Borneo ten years ago, when I first traveled on my own. They were doing a year or so abroad, and I think inspired me to do the same. Two years later I did. Last year, Jeroen and I met up with them and their son in Hong Kong for a short time. They were just moving from Germany to Montenegro. Although I got close last summer, I didn't make it to Montenegro on my trip in eastern Europe. But this summer, I did and it was great. I arrived on a Friday afternoon, a little earlier than I expected. I took a cab to their house and met with Birte and her two sons - the family had grown! When Karsten got home, we went into town to meet the German population to watch Germany play in the World Cup. Not an exciting game, so much, but still fun and nice to see them win. The next day we left in their four wheel drive to explore the mountains, and it was such a cool trip. And again, I made it to places I would never have seen on my own. We saw amazing changes in the flora of the area as we drove, we saw old Yugoslav military buildings, we drove on roadsno one should ever drive on and saw amazing views. We even made a stop near a family farm in the middle of nowhere and the family invited us over and gave us drinks and homemade cheese. It was great. In the evening we stayed at a place that they have stayed in the past, and the woman who runs it is like a grandmother to their kids. We had an amazing dinner, and chatted with the German/Swiss couple also staying in the house. The next day we stopped at a national park and drove home. It was great. I had such a good time and felt so lucky to have had them show me around and treat me like family. I look forward to seeing them again - hopefully in less than ten years.


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb