Day 3. Montenegro. Prcanj


Advertisement
Europe » Montenegro » Kotor » Kotor
June 8th 2008
Published: June 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Saturated Souls II



The weather today looks a little more promising so we decided to make another attempted to climb Kotor's wall after yesterday's attempt was rained off.

We started this climb with a rucksack full of high hopes and even higher optimism, and ended up with a rucksack full of water. Very reminiscent of Hadrians wall.

It is a good climb to the top. 1020 feet roughly. Zig zaging up the side of the mountain for what seems an eternity It is a good climb to the top but the views of Kotor and the bay with the incumbent mountains holding the sea and surrounding buildings gingerly like a pair of hands carrying a unfortunate goldfish to safety.

But with a big storm cloud overhead.

Well that me trying to add a litle culture to my writing. Doubt it worked.

What I am trying to say is its a hard climb to the top but the walk well worth it. If you get thirsty there are traders selling drinks in little corners of the wal or you could stick you tounge out and catch the rain.

Well its not raining yet. And there is stil quiet a distance to go. Tess is feeling pooped and is giving up but I can se the flag at the top so without Tess I start to run the last bit. Oh what a mistake. I was sweating like a pig. The weather might be overcast but its stil very humid.

Now at the top there isn't much of the fort left, well it was made around 800 BC so it has worn away a little but the veiws are amazing. In the distance you can see the vally opening and blue skys which are above Budva, so that something to look forward to. But for now after spending about ten minutes loking round it starts to rain very heavily. So bad that in just a few minutes I am soaked so I might as well head back down after al not much point in sheltering as I have no idea when it could stop. On the way down thoug there is loads of spots to shelter from the rain but a little pointless for me. On the way down I meet up with Tess sheltering under a door archway.



KotorKotorKotor

A view of Kotor from the Fort wall
I will finish this one soon


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb