My Moldova


Advertisement
Moldova's flag
Europe » Moldova
April 3rd 2005
Published: April 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

I came here not knowing what to expect. One night, walking past the Presidential Palace, I was shaken down by a policeman. The excuse was that we didn't have our passports and visas with us. Anyways, $5 USD cleared up the situation.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Border crossingBorder crossing
Border crossing

Leaving Ukraine for Moldova. There was a long line of cars to enter Moldova. Our tour group had a letter stating we were a visiting orchestra with an appointment to play for the President of Moldova. This allowed us to bypass the the long line and avoid having to bribe the border guards.
Moldovan Movie IndustryMoldovan Movie Industry
Moldovan Movie Industry

There was a film crew shooting a movie near the Stone Monastery. I couldn't speak any Moldovan so I didn't get a part.
Ok, this is part of the Stone MonasteryOk, this is part of the Stone Monastery
Ok, this is part of the Stone Monastery

The old part is built into the side of a cliff.
Curious little girl...Curious little girl...
Curious little girl...

I encountered this little girl on my way back from the Sone Monastery. There were two paths back to the bus. I spotted her on the upper path so I took the lower path, she then crossed over to the lower path and stood in my way. She didn't say a word, she just stared at me. I gave her an LED flashlight which she played with but again, didn't say a word.
Presidential ArchPresidential Arch
Presidential Arch

This is located in Chisinau.
American EmbassyAmerican Embassy
American Embassy

A couple of big beefy security guards came out of the Embassy and questioned why I was taking pictures and videos of the Embassy. They said it was not allowed...
Moldovan Feast...Moldovan Feast...
Moldovan Feast...

One night we had dinner at a Moldovan Farmer's house. This was just part of the spread they prepared for us. The food was delicious!


5th April 2005

Nice Travel Page
Hopefully one day I'll make it there.
8th April 2005

Or is it that our previous home had become to stale and too cumbersome to express our travel experiences?
8th April 2005

The Moldovan feast looks delicious, did they happen to serve Chicken Kiev as part of the meal?

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0961s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb