August 8 2015 Lake Mavrovo to Debar


Advertisement
Macedonia's flag
Europe » Macedonia
August 8th 2015
Published: May 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Firstly I'd like to thank all readers who post comments on the blog. It make the effort of writing the blog worthwhile. I realise that we can't have a cluster or funny story each day but hang in there as they are only just around the next bend.
The night at Mavrovo wasn't without incident. Gus and I chose one of the ritzier hotels to stay in. It was recommended and described as somewhere to soak up the serenity of the lake. Although we didn't have a reservation they managed to squeeze us in. In reality we were the only guests in a 60 room hotel as its low season. So low in fact you could crawl under a snakes belly wearing a top hat.
The hotel.... Firstly the hot water tank was the size of a thimble. I drink more water during the day than the tank holds. Hence the shower was as short as the body thermometer was in cold water.
Secondly and more importantly whilst I was drifting off to sleep listening to the dulcet tones of a bloody DJ pumping out doof doof music at the Eco festival I felt a tickle in the middle of my back. At this stage I rolled over to have an itch. Not sure what I itched but it was either a mouse, small bat or large spider. I sprang from the bed with the speed of a bullet. Wishing I'd eaten more carrots I peered in to the dark trying to work out if my visitor should have payed half the room rate. My heart was pumping like a steam engine possibly due to my ageing body not been used to moving so quickly. Anyhow once the light was on I couldn't find my visitor or sleep to that matter.
The next day we set off initially to Struga which according to the map program was 50 kms away. Wrong!!! It was a 90 km journey. Satellites seem to be a problem in Macedonia as they don't come out till the afternoon. Consequently we are now in Debar after 50 kms. Shouldn't be as tired as I feel as it was a 40 km ride downhill but the heat takes its toll and the climb to get here at the end was taxing. Only area of note was the St John Bigorski Monastery which was 2 kms up. They had a rosewood cannon which had been made by the monks to defend the monastery. The place was very well kept and worth a look.
We stopped for a snack in Debar and the waiter was the same waiter we had met in Pirok. After the snack we decided to stay for the evening. Both Gus and I got a haircut for $2.50. We've done this in most countries that we've visited.
Good evening out chatting with locals about politics, local economy and religion. Lol. It turned out to be really interesting actually.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb