Macedonia - 1 Week


Advertisement
Macedonia's flag
Europe » Macedonia
July 22nd 2012
Published: August 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Arrival in MacedoniaArrival in MacedoniaArrival in Macedonia

I cycled perpendicular to the mountains marking the border with Greece


Macedonia - 1 Week





Macedonia is a small but very mountainous country with pleasant people and nice scenery. Macedonia is famous for Alexander the Great and poppies apparently but I saw no poppies and Alex has some statues and an airport named after him....wicked (as Ali G would say).



Personally I would say that Macedonia is like a massive farm and should be famous for vegetables or farming, farming and tractors as there were tractors everywhere.



There were churches and mosques with more mosques closer to the border with Albania, it was nice to see two religions co-existing.



Orhid was a nice touristy destination located on a scenic lake and I decided to get a hotel room partly due to my desire to shower, have a beer and also because I couldn't resist a room for 8 Euros.



Skopje was a massive city but quite pleasant as far as capitals go, with quite a lot of greenery and not too much traffic or too many big buildings. They had red double decker buses and a main square full of statues.



While
Religious ShrinesReligious ShrinesReligious Shrines

They were all over the place
leavng Skopje some young lads drove passed me in a van and threw some water over me, so I caught them up and exchanged a few words with them, most of them unsuitable for childrens ears but it was quite funny really and we were all laughing.



Before crossing in to Serbia I spent half a day cycling uphill, in 40 degree heat, to see a megalithic observatory called Kokino which had some great views and some interesting shaped rocks, but to be honest it was no Stone Henge.



Finally I had my Corn Flakes in a tractor, a dedication to the number I saw in Macedonia, and the very nice owner let me sit in it.


Macedonia - a nice country, with nice people and plenty of veg.




Additional photos below
Photos: 86, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Day 61Day 61
Day 61

The sun setting on my first night in Macedonia
CampingCamping
Camping

I got surrounded by sheep on my first night in Macedonia
Showing GratitudeShowing Gratitude
Showing Gratitude

I Thanked God for my hand fan in the evening
Morning Day 2Morning Day 2
Morning Day 2

I sat with some locals at 8am - me eating cereal them drinking wine
Mountainous MacedoniaMountainous Macedonia
Mountainous Macedonia

Crossing my first mountain
Day 62Day 62
Day 62

Cycling through the valleys and up and around the mountains
Some LocalsSome Locals
Some Locals

The Macedonians were very friendly
MacedoniaMacedonia
Macedonia

It was like a massive farm
Climbing Up Another MountainClimbing Up Another Mountain
Climbing Up Another Mountain

following the ascending and twisting road
Following The RiverFollowing The River
Following The River

Ascending through some hills
Climbing up another mountainClimbing up another mountain
Climbing up another mountain

I was very happy to see a tunnel
View from my TentView from my Tent
View from my Tent

At the end of my first full day in Macedonia


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb