Kosovo - 3 Days


Advertisement
Europe » Kosovo
July 25th 2012
Published: August 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post


Serbia - 18 Hours





I cycled in to Serbia at 7pm, camped in the woods and then crossed in to Kosovo at lunch time the day after. What I saw was some mediocre countryside and some miserable people but I was only there for 18 hours so this could just have been bad luck, but the mood of the people was very obvious once I had crossed the border.




Kosovo - 2 Days




The Kosavan People were really warm people, with people stopping their cars to get out and talk, to kids racing me or someone offering to take me 15 miles up a mountain on their tractor, the people were chatty, friendly and curious

On the day I cycled in to Kosovo I saw many convoys of cars decorated in ribbons or waving flags, beeping their horns or shouting while standing up out of the sun roof. Most of the flags were Albanian as I later found out 96%!o(MISSING)f Kosovans are of Albanian dissent and they seemed very proud of this fact.

I went through Pristina the Kosovan capital but there really wasn't much to see,
SerbiaSerbiaSerbia

A river just across the border
the mosque and the government building was delapadated and apart from a statue of Skanderbeg, the albanian hero ,it was just another city

After Pristina I cycled towards Peje and saw loads of memorials and statues paying tribute to people that died fighting for their country, most of them had died recently.

That evening I set up my tent in a field and an hour later a thunderstorm made me move my tent, it was quite strange because there was virtually no wind and then over a couple of minutes it was strong enough to make me move.

There were some interesting things I noticed while cycling through the country, there were signs on the bridges that not only had the maximum weight for trucks that could cross but also the maximum weight for tank. There were also lots of British and American flags, which I later found out from a friendly guy that pulled over his car and introduced me to some of his friends, that the Kosovans are grateful because the UK and USA bombed the Serbs. I was also stopped by a family who wanted me to take a photo of them, they tried
SerbiaSerbiaSerbia

A religious building
to get money from me, but failed.

I had some corn flakes just before the mountain range that crossed in to Montenegro, and shortly after was offered a ride on a tractor pulling a trailer. I jumped at the chance loved sitting on a tractor as the driver drank beer from cans as we climbed 30km to the top. We crossed the border and I laughed as when we had passed he told me he was a policeman, obviously no breathalisers in Kosovo.



So nothing special as there rarely is in these small countries but well worth a visit due to the nature of the people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

SerbiaSerbia
Serbia

I slept only one night in Serbia
SerbiaSerbia
Serbia

I had to climb out of a valley...
SerbiaSerbia
Serbia

... and then in to and across another valley
KosovoKosovo
Kosovo

The que at the border
KosovoKosovo
Kosovo

A spot for lunch
Just inside KosovoJust inside Kosovo
Just inside Kosovo

Some kids were interested in me having lunch
Just inside KosovoJust inside Kosovo
Just inside Kosovo

There were more mosques straight away
Kosovan PeopleKosovan People
Kosovan People

They were very friendly, this guy stopped his car to meet me...
Kosovan PeopleKosovan People
Kosovan People

...and he introduced me to his friends
Kosovan PrideKosovan Pride
Kosovan Pride

There were convoys of cars...
Kosovan PrideKosovan Pride
Kosovan Pride

...shouting from the sunroof
Kosovan PrideKosovan Pride
Kosovan Pride

... and waving flags
A MemorialA Memorial
A Memorial

My first of many
Corn SellersCorn Sellers
Corn Sellers

On the side of the road
Road SignsRoad Signs
Road Signs

With the weight of tanks that can pass stipulated
Approaching the CapitalApproaching the Capital
Approaching the Capital

My descent in to Pristina


Tot: 0.446s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 19; qc: 87; dbt: 0.0929s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb