Brussels & Luxembourg


Advertisement
Luxembourg's flag
Europe » Luxembourg » Luxembourg City
September 11th 2006
Published: September 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Brussels to a regional airport that was about an hour away from the city centre. Luckily they had a bus that ran to the city every hour. I hopped on it and made it to the centre at about 5pm.
The first mission for me was to find a place to stay since i'd arrived without booking a room. Still as organised as ever.
I visited the tourist office which i knew booked rooms for free, and they found a hostel for me quite easily. I found it and as luck would have it, it had its own bar. I went out for dinner and then headed for the bar.
I met an American guy who was in the same room as me, so we had a few beers between us and stumbled to bed (not together!) at about 1am. The next day, i decided to head to the train station and see if i could get to Luxembourg. Like Slovenia, its one of those countries you don't really hear about in terms of tourism, but i read that it was really nice.
The train ride was three hours, so i hopped on and arrived in Lux City at about 2.30.
The city is quite beautiful, built around a huge fortified castle. You can clearly see remains of the fortress throughout the city. Took a heap of photos and checked out the casements. Spent about 5 hours there before deciding i'd better head back to Brussels. Caught a train and ended up back at the hostel around 11pm. Met up with my American friend and decided to have a couple of quiet beers at the hostel bar. We met a couple of Swedish girls so the couple of beers turned into a couple more and I got to bed at around 3am. Check out was 10am, so as I write this I'm pretty tired (and sick of using weird keyboards).
I've got a flight booked to Dublin tonight at about 7pm (about 4am in Aus) so I'm spending the day checking out the sites in Brussels.
See you in Ireland.

Advertisement



12th September 2006

Its awesome the way you managed to sound so dissapointed when you write about your American friend "...stumbled to bed(!not together)[unfortunately]". Swedish Chicks though...Thats why people travel in Europe...Wicked. Not much happening here...though we have had some nice weather and chicks are starting to wear less...you'd love it.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb