Unexpected but fantastic :)


Advertisement
Lithuania's flag
Europe » Lithuania » Vilnius
October 29th 2008
Published: July 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Lithuania and Vilnius.. A place that has now changed me in so many ways by the time I had left the country to be heading back to Australia. First stop in Lithuania was the hill of crosses and i remember thinking this is one creepy place.. It is not just one hill of crosses either, the whole area is completely covered in them and an amazing sight when first seen. It is hard to get to though from the city that is close by if not having a car. It ended up a local bus trip, guessing where to get of then walking for a hour or so to the hill. Getting back was worse and since I had a bus to catch I ended up rushing through the place.

Next stop was Kaunas and it was a pitty because the weather was terrible the whole time I was there and didn't get to really do a great deal. Had a look around the city for a couple of days and there didn't seem to be a great deal to be done there. Some nice building exp the church was fantastic but other than that is was not the best place i have been to.

The final city for me to visit there in Lithuania was Vilnius and I had no idea everything was about to change for me there.. I was waiting for my host Diana at the church in the city centre and she arrived and went back to her place and got talking and went and meet some friends of hers the first night. Well the rest is history now and now I am planning to move over there soon to be with her. Completely out of the blue it happened but I am very glad for it 😊 Anyway, other things done in Vilnius.. Not a great deal actually, we went for a drive to a ex soviet statue museum that did not interest us a great deal and walked around Vilnius for most of the time. After travelling through the Scandinavian countries though I found it a nice and cheap country finally and having some fantastic meals we did have! Eastern Europe is a different place along with the people but I made some good friends during my time there and I am sure I will be meeting them again. It was time for me to go back to Australia but of course my plans are all about to change 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb