Latvia--Day 1 cont.


Advertisement
Latvia's flag
Europe » Latvia » Riga Region » Riga
June 27th 2008
Published: June 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

OK, so I thought it would take all day to see the sights in the Old City, but nope. First grabbed an omelet and got an espresso in a nice little pub. Then, I took some advice and made the first elevator up to the top of St. Peter's Churhc and was the only one up on top of the tower. Great view of the whole city, but cold and windy up there. When I went down, the line was so long for the next rides up. Pretty cool to have the whole top of the tower to myself. Next I went to the Freedom Monument. Marks Latvia's independence in the early 1900's. It was illegal to put flowers near it during the Soviet occupation though. Now it is a symbol of their independence again. Was the site of where the rallies were held at the end of the Cold War. Sort of appropriate that the closet store/restaurant to the Freedom Monument is a McDonald's! Then I went to the War Museum (free) and then the Museum of Occupation (free). Interesting, but not too time-consuming.

I met saome lady from Woodland, Maine. Sort of interesting. She went to MMA with Eric Smith, Ryan's brother. She and her group invited me out to dinner tonight, so I may do that. Anyway, back to the hostel and it is crowded. Trying to figure out the rest of the day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb