Latvia--Day 1


Advertisement
Latvia's flag
Europe » Latvia » Riga Region » Riga
June 27th 2008
Published: June 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

OK, so I took the long cab ride into the Old Town of Riga. Pretty easy to find the hostel--Argonaut Hostel. On the way, saw lots of Soviet-style buildings, many with spraypaint all over them. The nightlife around this part of the Old Town seems to be really good, but I got in and showered and went to bed pretty soon. It was past 1:30am when I tried to hit the sack. Not a great night of sleep--but interesting. 10 beds in my room and I was on an upper bunk. 2 guys were sleeping already and the other people slowly came in--some making noise!. I got up this am 1st of course--at about 7:45. Just checking the computer and heading out to see the city early.

Their money is actually worth more than ours and the Euro. It is a little over 2 dollars to eaqual one lat. Also, when we arrived last night at 11:15, it was still pretty light out. Looked like it does when it is about 20 minutes past sunset. What else? Oh yeah, no one was in shorts when I got here except me. It is cool--do not need ac at night which is pretty nice. There are beaches close to hear though and lots of little day trips you can do--maybe tomorrow I will, but today is going to be just get out and wander around.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb