Ryan Air Nightmares


Advertisement
Latvia's flag
Europe » Latvia » Riga Region » Riga
March 2nd 2007
Published: March 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

For once I wasn’t travelling alone, one of my work mates Izmar (whose Bosnian by nationality and moved to UK when he was a kid).
I love Eastern Europe as you know and as a former USSR state it had always appealed to me.
Now for all those of you who critised and thought I was probably very silly booking to travel with Ryan air were proved right this time.
Alll was going well when an hour from landing we were informed that the weather in Riga was bad and so we were landing in Washa. Not to worry though they were going to bus us to Riga. Well that wouldn’t have been so bad we thought until the pilot announced that Washa was Latvian for WARSAW- yep WARSAW POLAND!
My travel guide for Europe quickly got opened and although I don’t mind mega bus .. or Nat express, 16 hours for a weekend away would have been a nightmare! Thankfully we landed at Warsaw and ended up soon back on the same plane as the weather in Latvia had remarkably just got better. The weather was never I problem I don’t believe as one of chaps had friends flying in at similar time from other UK airports and they landed without delay. So we went through customs again and a few people had their liquid items confiscated- spirits and perfumes bought in duty free in London. Once back on the plane the saga continued as now one passenger had disappeared and as this was technically a security risk we had to unload the plane of bags and then we had to all get off and identify our bags- even if like myself and Izmar we didn’t have any check in baggage.
Finally we arrived in Latvia 3 hours late and headed for hostel where we were given a free beer- which was just what was needed believe me!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb