Como-tose in Lake Como .... but in a good way!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
August 1st 2006
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

AAA

View from the bench as I munched on my picnic dinner.
Geo: 46.0031, 9.54927

Hardly slept as it was strangely quiet in the room. I was the only one in the dorm - until midnight when a french couple and their 2 daughters moved in and woke me up. Cant complain too much as the daughters were very pretty. Aaahhh ... to be 5 years younger .... luckily, I quickly was able to pull my sheets up as I was wearing only undies (it's hot at night !!!!) Did I mention that Trenitalia sucks? The internet showed a 9:00 train to Lake Como. I showed up and was told no. No biggie, so I arrive an hour later. But I could've had another hour of sleep.

Maybe it was better anyway since I had one less connection to miss due to Trenitalia's horrid performance. Had time so I walked back to town and got some food. Yogurt drink (quick and filling), peach, nuts, and foccaccia. Amazing, with roma tomatoes and shredded fish flakes. Bread itself was very good as well but the toppings put it over the top.

Long travel day - made my Milan connection but surprise, the Como train was 35 minutes late! How that happens on an hourly train I will
BBB

Still munching on my picnic, sitting on the bench. I think I was on to the panna cotta by now.
never know. Got to Menaggio (via bus from Como, the city). Wow! Magical. Ever have one of those moments where you're speechless? Picnic on the lake. Had some of the "appetizer" cheese I first found in Arles, France. Salami, buns (chewy, good), panna cotta, grapefruit juice. Overpriced at 6.30 euros (they almost charged me 12 euro just for the juice ... was it an accident or deliberate? Who knows ...).

Food tastes better when you're staring at something beautiful. As a side note, I wish that I had brought a spork to Europe. I'e been re-using some cheap plastic cutlery - eventually it'll get gross.

The hostel is kind of lacking ... in fact crappy. Clean, at least. Tiny toilet stall, I can barely fit in. But the view is priceless. I know why George Clooney moved to Lake Como. Hopefully I can stay here a second night ... hostel is full, but I have a place booked in Como (more industrial, less serene). Hope there is a cancellation or I can find a cheap hotel here. As I write this, I'm just sitting outside ... staring at the lake ... sigh ......


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

CC
C

C
DD
D

When I saw this sign I thought "Holy crap, U2 and Green Day are coming to Menaggio". Then I noticed they were all tribute bands.
EE
E

What a life ... fishing in Lake Como.
FF
F

F
GG
G

View from the hostel. Not the nicest place, but an incredible view. The toilet stalls were so tight that I practically scraped my knees on the wall as I did my thing. What thing, you ask? What´s 1 + 1 boys and girls? Number 2, of course.
HH
H

View from the hostel, at night. Trust me, it´s even better in person. I just sat out on the deck relaxing that night.


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb