Day 24: Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
August 27th 2017
Published: August 28th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I didn't look at the clock but I heard the three guys leave pretty early this morning. I woke up at 8:00 am but played on my phone until 10:00. It was laundry day today. This hostel has a laundry room for guests. Once I cleaned up I went downstairs to do my chores. These pay machines are always so confusing to me. It should be simple. Pay on the wall and select a machine. I put a 20€ note in the machine and while I took some time to figure out the machines, pay machine timed out and ate my money. I asked someone at the front desk and they gave me my money back. They were busy so I went out and grabbed a sandwich, came back then someone was able to help me. I messaged Marina and she was in Venice now. Once my laundry was done around 2:30 pm headed out to meet her in the city. I wanted go to a place called Acqua e Mais. I took the them in and we walked across the city. The canals are beautiful and equally as difficult to navigate as Amsterdam. It was a long walk so we ate a bowl of street food like pasta. I still ate when we got to Acqua e Mais. I had another arancini and a fried squid. We went up to the lookout tower at St. Mark's Basilica. I bought a watercolour painting from a man in the walkways. I think Italy is my favourite part of the trip thus far and I want something to remember it by. I was looking for souvenirs for people but I didn't find anything I like. I walked with Marina to the bus station. I went back in to have one last Italian supper. It was disappointing. The best pasta I had on this trip was at that restaurant near the Vatican. On the way home I had some gelato. The best gelato I had was actually in Prague. I had three new roomies in my room. They were all friends from Germany. I apologized in advance for me making noise at 6:30 am the next day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb