Personal thoughts on being in Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
January 23rd 2011
Published: October 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I think that I have found myself in Roma. Rome is a city full of life. Full of people and history and splendor. But what spoke most to me was that it was full of love. Everyone everywhere. It is not difficult to understand why people here are happy. A trip to any restaurant, bar, cafe, or historical museum will impress you. But more than that i think it is in the spirit of the Italian people. Their passion for everything they do overwhelms the senses and permeates every pore of your soul as you soak in the much needed medicine to combat the stress of everyday life. To me, to know Roma is to know happiness and love and passion.

I would rate the hostel I stayed at as awesome (La Controra Hostel, Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy. Telephone: +39 069 893 7364) . The rooms, showers, linens, and towels were all clean daily. As were the common areas kitchen and other places. The kitchen had everything you would need to cook a meal or boil an egg. The Internet was fast, wireless, and free. There are so many things I could mention about the facilities but they would only express to you the shell of what makes this hostel different, better, and above other places I've stayed at. Their secret, lies in the friendly, super helpful, and overall selfless giving nature of their international staff. Truly they care for the well being of their guests and welcome them as into their own home. Several times the staff would give of their own personal belongings to help a guest whether for a phone charger or a meal they cooked for anyone interested. The good nature and generosity of the staff really led mE to feel this was MY home and truly made the difference between average and great.

Note to myself: it is nice when I can travel with nothing but love in my heart. It makes all the difference in the world. I resolve to do this.

Post travel Note: I am still FB friends with members of the hostel staff and we talk on Skype! I hope to meet up with them again one day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

They said not to take pictures
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

My first meal in Rome
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

The streets
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

The Spanish Stairs
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

Love in Rome.
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

They said not to take pictures
Photo 17Photo 17
Photo 17

They said not to take pictures


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb