Phil's blog


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
August 4th 2011
Published: August 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

27th July
The competition was cancelled again so I Had a cycle ride from Siggilo to Scheggia then up the road towards Cantiano. There are some nice quiet roads here which are always good for cycling. The road descended to S then headed south again back to Siggilo. 60km later I just got back in time before it thunder stormed.

28th July Spent some time on the internet then watched a few landings.

29th July
I could see that the wind was strong again this time from the north so I drove down to Fossato where I ventured out on my road bike for a little ride. I tried to follow a route that I had in my cycle book but ended up heading for Assisi. I followed the signs for Gubbio which took me the long way round. By time I got back to the van I had rode 82km with 1400m of cycling up hills.
30th July Drove up to take off after doing a few jobs on Myrtle. The wind was quite strong and very busy on launch.
31st July Drove up to launch and took off at mid day in the 10kph breeze. I flew 20km north past Cantiano where the sky was looking quite lively and showering nearby. I turned around and flew towards Gubbio then back to launch. I decided to fly south all the way to Nocera Umbra. I would have flown further but Wendy was back in the Uk so I had to get back by flying. With a slight south westerly blowing the return glide was easy. Nice light wind on take off for an easy top landing. Distance was 91km and a 3hr flight.

1st Aug I Traveled over to Lake Transemeno where I parked next to the lakeside at Castiglione del lago, then did 100ft of washing at the launderette.
2nd Aug Time for another cycle ride This time just a short 38km around the local hills. In the evening I inflated the canoe and had a paddle up the coastline to admire the views along the shoreline. Finishing off with a swim in the warm water.
3rd Aug Made my way to Sienna but there were too many travelers hanging around the car parks so I just carried on driving.
4th Aug Had a trip to the Caravans International Factory where they make motorhomes near Sienna. Got some new locks for Myrtle’s doors. So that all the locks have the same key.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1123s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb