Bonjurno Italia


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
June 7th 2011
Published: June 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

DuomoDuomoDuomo

Duomo
I arrived in Milan yesterday around 7pm, I had a shower and got ready to treat myself to a nice dinner. Didn't get very far, walked up and down the street and ended up opting for the hotel restaurant, it was nice however it was expensive, don't think I'll be doing that again...

My hotel room has a massive private balcony, which I think is bigger than my room. There's nothing really out there and the photos don't give it justice, so I'll just leave it to your imagination. It is so, so, so nice being in a hotel. I was so over the sleepless nights at the hostel, this place is like heaven. The first thing I did was have a shower without closing the door, strange but true.

So after my expensive dinner I started wondering as you do, I'm staying about a five minute walk from the major tourist attraction the Duomo. For those of you that don't know it's a very old church right in the heart of Milan, it's massive. Photos do not even show you how big this place is. Right next to it is a walk way that is called Galleria Vittorio, this is beautiful, inside are many quaint restaurants (that cost the earth) but are lined with flowers and some even had live pianists playing, it was lovely, very romantic.
Through the other side of the Vittorio is a statue of Leonardo Di Vinci, as I was walking around the statue I noticed this very Italiano guy sitting on one of the benches. I sat on the other side of the statue, however he came over to me and started talking. He thought I was Italian, as everyone else here thinks I am.. It was fine, we were have a nice chat and went across the road to a bar for a drink, then he started with a little too much flattery, I was starting to feel a little uncomfortable so I left and walked home. He was nice and all I just wasn't interested in him in that way. It might of had something to do with the fact that he was wearing a lavender vest and white pants... Very Italian.

This morning I woke up and went to the Duomo, it was open now so I got to go inside, I hate to say it but I looks like all the other Italian Church's (sorry) it's beautiful yes, was I really that interested, no. I lit a candle for my dad, took a few photos and left.

Now that I've done the must see Duomo in Milan I can go and do what I really came here for, the shopping, and yes it's amazing. I didn't end up buying a lot and that is only because I only have 700grams to work with in my suitcase so anything I buy must be hand luggage for the plane ride home. The style of clothing and the quality is 10 times better than London, I hate to say it but it is. The Zara store here is so luxurious, amazing! It's four stores high with white marble floors, gold banisters and a door man. It was pretty bad weather, as it's been raining all day non-stop, which makes it hard for shopping as they are all downs streets like Oxford and not under cover. There are many, many shoe shops, all made in Italy all made in leather, beautiful! I really wanted to buy a pair but I just couldn't part with the 250 Euros.
I walked down Via Della Spiga, this was where the home of Valentino, D & G, Channel, Versace, Armani lives. Armani even has a cafe here, and it looked expensive! I didn't dear to enter, it was filled with business men in suits have their casual meetings, drinking coffee. It would have been cool, my feet were wet and my hair was fuzzy, I didn't think I fitted the look they were going for. Maybe next time.

I love Milan's sense of style, even the guys are dresses so fashionably. Sometimes the guys look better dressed than the females.. Screams Italy, but that's why I love it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Tram covered in lightsTram covered in lights
Tram covered in lights

Tram covered in lights


Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb