Southbank Festival


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » South Bank
June 4th 2011
Published: June 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Early this afternoon I went and checked out a house in Clapham Common, the area is so lovely this is definitely the area I need to live in. I really loved the house, it was everything I wanted. The only problem is that they had 25 people coming to view it over today and tomorrow, so my chances of getting it are looking pretty slim.
So after the house hunting I decided that I would stop at Waterloo and go for a walk along southbank walk, it was the best weather today, 24 and blue skies so I thought it would be the perfect time to be a tourist. After all the job and house hunting I have done this week I really needed to take some time out for myself, it had been a big week.
So I get out from Waterloo tube and start heading towards Southbank, when I got there I was pleasantly surprised to find a food and wine festival going on. It was great, there were bands playing all over and restaurants were over flowing with people, it reminded me a lot like Melbourne actually, without the dick heads that Melbourne has. There were also heaps of buskers along the boardwalk. London Eye was there of course, I had never seen it up close like that, only from a distance, it's HUGE! Bigger than I could ever imagine. I was looking at the architecture and I just didn't make sense, the thing that looked like was holding it up was cable. You probably won't be able to see what I mean by looking at the photo, I think you really need to see it in real live to fully understand this machine.
On display along the edge of the boardwalk were little beach huts, they looked like they had sent them in from Brighton. Although, I think they were made especially for the festival as they looked brand new! Again reminded me of home 😊 If you walked down further away from the London Eye there was beach sand, trying to fake a beach I suppose, hey the kids were in there having fun, keeps them from screaming in the pushers, ha ha. On the opposite side of the fake beach was fake grass, there were even huge chairs covered in fake grass. That is very big over here (fake grass) I think it's a tread, I've seen a few business' use it.
It was so nice to be outside and amongst the living, this week I just felt like I was going from one appointment to the next all day every day, so it was very relaxing.
When I think of Waterloo I think of the Monopoly board being a poor area, if it was then this is certainly not the case now, it is thriving with new business and what they have done at Southbank just reminds me of the Southbank back home.
Every day I spend in London the more it reminds me of Melbourne, there are so many similar things, the bars, restaurants, pubs, how people like to spend their time, everyone is friendly no matter what part of town I've been to. I was even speaking to a transvestite the other day. I guess people project onto you what you project onto them. Before I left Melbourne I was so unhappy, I hated my job which I believed effected me greatly on all other aspects of my life, I projected that onto others which was why I was so miserable, now that I don't have that burden I feel a sense of happiness and freedom. It feels good to feel good again. I think my head and heart needed a break from my old life, so I guess now I can say new life here I come! x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb