A lack of signs...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
April 28th 2006
Published: April 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It is always amusing when one goes travelling, and comes across signs in different languages that have a completely different (and often rude) meaning in your own language, or badly translated ones. Unfortunately, there has been a distinct lack of amusing signs thus far in my travels...
Unless you count the one saying "have a nice trip" half-way down the 300 odd stairs I climbed up to a temple in Chiang Mai, Thailand. Or the ones forbidding public displays of affection, posted all around Thailand- yes, apparently you are not allowed to be 'loving' towards your partner in a public place. Or the ones that forbid "lying down in an indecent way" in public, in Firenze (still haven't quite figured out what exacly they mean by 'indecent'. What, with your legs up in the air or something??). Well, I hadn't really been planning on lying down, much less in Italy least I be run over by a speeding hooligan (ie. ANY Italian!- refer to previous entry), or stampeded by the hoards of tourists rampaging all over this mighty country. But since it's forbidden...
Venezia similarly dished out an interesting piece of wisdom that I will forever carry with me at the back of my mind- in a dusty corner full of cobwebs that is- "When in doubt, take a bath." Ah, the wise words of a shop selling soap! No need for the Dahli Llama when you have that, eh?!
Similarly, graffiti-ed on a building was this other revelation- "I can't fly". Hope that person didn't figure that out through experience...
Anyways, I'm keeping my eyes open, so I'll let you know if I come across any gems.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb