Say hi to your mum for me!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont » Turin
April 28th 2006
Published: April 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

If you happened to be watching Italian MTv today at about 3pm, you would have seen yours truly in the background, tactfully avoiding the hosts running around with a mike, interviewing people by hiding behind a bush! Hehehe. So really, I guess you would have only seen the bush...hmm... ;p
Anyways. It's hard to imagine that just two short months ago this city was playing host to the Winter Olympics. Where has all the snow gone??? Yes, I'm well aware that it is now spring, but still. Although remnants and reminders of the games are everywhere. Flags with the games motto 'passion lives here' (or 'la pasionne abita qui' in Italian- see, I'm learning stuff!!), odd little red spiky metal sculptures I guess you'd call them, saying 'Torino, OIympic host city' on them, and other bits and pieces all around the city.
But, I'm sorry to say, apart from the Museo Egitto (the Egyptian museum, which has the largest collection of Egyptian artifacts after London and Cairo), this town is really quite boring and dull. Very different from all the other cities in Italy that I have explored, it is similar to Melbourne in a lot of ways (not to say that Melbourne is boring and dull!!), with the city centre built on a grid system. This means that getting lost is virtually impossible. Unless you're me...I have thoroughly mastered the art of getting even more thoroughly lost- and I love doing it!! You know what they say, 'tutte le strade portano a Roma.' Bet you can guess what that means 😊


(All roads lead to Rome). Just in case...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb