Sorrento and Napoli


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
October 16th 2009
Published: October 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

 I got into Napoli and hopped the "quick" little train to sorrento where I was staying. I had heard Napoli is a crime center. I asked what train to get on and I was told wrong or I did wrong because I ended up in Sarno, not what I was hoping for. It took quite a while to get to Sorrento but I go my act together. Usually this would not put me in mood not ready to take in a warn reception from a city. However I think Sorrento is awesome! It has a little of everything. I got in and took a walk down to the cliffs and beach. It was very cool. The beach was not much in use but you could tell in the summer it would be the spot to be. I made my way down the cliffs to where the water had forced a cliff to change it to a beach and then man forced in caves, stairs and elevators down from the hotels above. Very slick. I waslked along where there are resturants in the summer, passing unde the piers since the floor boards had been taken up for the winter. Since no one was around I snooped my way into some private beaches that had really old caves and such that were off limits to most. I watched the sunset over the water and point infront of me with just the right amount of clouds to make for a good time. I ran into some people that said a fishing village around the bend was real nice so I gave it a go. They were right with one and a half car roads into the town and as many boats as houses the area had a feeling of isolation. Cafes sold fresh sardines for 3 euro and kids in the street kicked a soccer ball to be; I am not much for soccer so I could not do much other than kick it back. I explored the town, somehow getting lost on the one road out of town, and made my way back to Sorrento. I had a picnic dinner in the main square next to a smoker that no longer looked cool with his weez and a odd looking crazy old lady. For some reason the lady started blurting things every few minutes. I got up to leave soon and I think she might have been doin it to me! As I left she covered her face from me and yelled some stuff. I made my departure in hast. In the morning I made my way to Mt. Vesuvius! I got a train and a bus and hiked around the rim of the mummifier of Pompei. Steam was coming out o the sides o the craiter which were like cliff forming a cilineder down into the bottom. No steam came from the bottom which I found strange. The view of the bay, Pompei, Napoli, Sorrento and Capri were amazing. I made my way down and decided to take a look at Napoli. The four old British ladies on the bus told me good luck and that they were not going because hey thought they would get mugged. I was looking foe scuba places but found hat they did not do it now since it was too cold for the little Italian men haha. I did see some good castles and the city. Sorrento is much better though and o am glado be staying there where I am not scared an feel dirty, the city was gross. Today I went to Pompei and found Otto be the best ruins yet. There was everything to hope from a ruin, and it was huge!  I guess I should have expectied it to he big since it is a whole city. That is something you don't relize that it is a city not a little site and that everything is spread out. I was warned to some degree but it still shocked me. You start by the marina which is now very inland, like the whole city is. There was monuments to many gods and the houses of the rich were the only rivals to their beauty. Many frescos and mosaics were still intacked or at least partly. There was also a stadium that gladiators fought in. The arena was band for a while since a riot broke out once. My favorite was a house with two series of ponds and statues over them like mini bridges. They were lined by trees, which had been planted in the way the originals were. I learned that even the plants left imprints so that everything from viniards to yards could be recreated. This house was one of the few that were done to such extent. Other places that were cool were the wool processing area, which I found to be remarkably similar to what is still being used in Morocco. The other was a  whore house. The images of positions portaied on frescos on the walls. This was the biggest in town with five rooms that were not as big as many closets in modern homes. I also learned that several years before th eruption there were several earthquakes that ruinded much of the town and that much of the reconstruction was going on as it was buried. In all I liked Pompie very much and it was a good day. The next day I did the Amafi coast. This was to be a day trip before I headed to Bari to catch the ferry to Greece, but thing worked out differently. I caught the bus that went along the coast with, by chance, my friend I met I the hostel. His name is Ignacio and he was from Argentina. As we went the weather got better from the day before. It was hot now as we passed along the cliffs with an amazing view of the coast. I decided to stop in Positano with Ignacio because it was said to be one of the better towns along the way. It was getting hot and I decided to take a swim (caring everything I own is hard work I have learned. But I recently rid myselft of some hot weather clothes and my tent so going is getting easier). I change in a fishing shack that a man let's me use and hop in. I am the only one in the water but it is very nice and warm, at least for me. Ignacio did not have shorts and I think was very disapointed that he could not hop in too. We sat on the beach awhile and then headed off to Almafi seeing more cliffs and the structures that man has seemed to glue to them. The bus has to honk at every turn to let others he is coming since the road is small and twists like a screw as you spin like a top on the bus. Almafi is nice too and we go to have lunch on a pier where I run into two Aussies that I meet in Rome in my hostel, they were scootering arount the cliffs. Oh and by this time I find myself relizing that my plan to get to Greece was not to play out on this day. Ignacio plays with the idea of joining me to Greece but he has to be in Berlin for a flight in ten days and it is a long trip. He is a really fun guy though and we hung out the whole day and te trip back to the hostel, that I had just checked out of. On the way though we stopped again in Positano where we bought a beer and watched the sunset which was just as good as from the other side of the penincula in Sorrento. Back at the hostel we had dinner where he cooked up pasta like I had the night before and saved the leftovers like I had seeing how good it looked. We meet another American that was staying in our room. He was older and was a pro caddie. He started getying on my nerves real quick since he was old and told us history stories. Remind you of anyone Sarah? Yes it was like our friend Randy twin. He went to bed and was not nearly as bad as Randy. But we also meet some more aussie girls, suprize there. And we hung out for a little before sleep. In all a good day even though it turned out nothing like planned. Now I am on the train to Bari and I did no miss any conections or anything! Good day so far for travel!     

Advertisement



Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.047s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0845s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb