Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
October 12th 2009
Published: October 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It is now my third day in Rome. The first day I got in the afternoon and had some trouble finding my hostel since there are so many plazas, I was using the wronge one as refference. I then made it to the Navagator Hostel and waited outside with some Italians that said they were ringing and could not get the place. I waited about 15 min and finaly found they were trying to get to a different hostel in the building. I got in and found it to look like a normal apartment. I got my room and was relieved to see it was a hostel set up. It was a fun place in a way. It was a normal apartment hat had been converted. It was run by a bunch of young Indian men and an old guy slept on the couch which was wierd but I think he was the owner. People slept on couchs like this in morocco. Everyone is nice and despite it being strange it is a great deal; free Internet, breakfast, and dinner. The first day I missed the dinner since I had to get the pizza that Andy said was as good as the sights... I was not disapointed, thanks Andy. I also walked by alot of the sights, since it was dusk I did not go in but they looked real nice. I also took the night strole that Rick Steves recomended. It was nice to see all the things at night with the lights. I walked by one of the plazas and heard some singing so I went in and it was a concert that looked to be for children's benifit. There were kids on stage and as I was leaving church people started showing up in a march. I felt I had enough so I left but I did like the smell of the poparie they were swinging. I saw some more sights and started home. I got a bit lost and heard some more music. It was coming from up on a raised garden. I was about to check it out when i saw some people and asked for directions. They helped me then told me that it was a communist party and that there were lots of young communists that I could mee there. I pondered and thought I would skip on this consert. I made my way home just as a thunder storm was moving in. Just in time! Good thing I did not stick around and become a communist. The next day I decieded I would see the coliseum, roman forum and palinine hill. There was one ticket to see them all so I thought it would be a good deal. I went to the entrance to palintine hill which I had heard was less busy. It was and I got in real quick. I saw all the old emporors stomping grounds and grardens and all that good stuff. The coliseum is not attached to this part so I decided to end my tour see some other stuff and get the coliseum later in the day. I saw the Spanish steps and some other stuff. I maded it back to the coliseum and gave it the look about. I think the best parts were the pantheon, coliseum and trevi fountain. The four fountains were also cool, I saw them at night. Today I went. To the Vatican. It looked to be a nice day when I steped out, the day before had been sweltering. I made may way to the pope's place with a few stops on the way. I got there to see the biggest crowd yet, fallowee close by the Spanish steps. I looked about and saw the papal appartments and then hopped in the enormous line for the bisilica. It was worth the wait. That place is huge! I saw all the little nooks I could, mass was going on so it was limited. I must say the bisilica is one the top list of Rome. I also found it funny that the nice day turned yo hell as I was entering the bisilica, a sign from god? I am doing some more sight seeing as I write this. I am curently hiding out under an awning from the rain of hell fire, or just water. In all Rome is nice to see the history but I am not that into it. The pizza and gelato (both which Andy recomended) were the best parts I think. But me sitting alone in a resturant is a good image of that I feel of Rome. It's nice but not the best. I feel I have to like these things i have learned of in every history class and that makes me think twice.        

Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.015s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb