MILANO


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
July 13th 2009
Published: July 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow- trip to the other side of the world (or so it seems) complete!
Now that Im here it feels like I never left (I was here a few years ago, sitting in the same seats waiting for the same car, from the same company), and I wonder what I got myself in such a knot over. I will say that as soon as my feet hit the Malpensa tile I felt 100% better. I realize that travel, once its over, always seems not to have been such a big deal.
This, with the natural exception of travelling with my parents. My mom is a good traveller, but my dad in his older age has become much less patient and much more testy. He tries not to be but the differences in personallity and family rank really shows between us all when were stuck in small spaces together for hours at a time. I wonder if this happens with all families, or just mine because we are so disfunctional to begin with?
At any rate, I havnt had a moment to go out into Milan and see anything. I dont know that I really will as Milan is not one of my favorite cities. lol. I know, I know, I sound terrible saying that!! Its true though. I do, however, love love love Arona. We are close by to it and I am reall,y really looking foreward to going there tomorrow. Arona is a small town on the southern tip of Lago Maggiore (my favorite lake in the whole world). This small, charming little place has the trademark cobble stone alleys and modern high end stores set into centuries old brick buildings that you expect from a small northern italian village- all lined by sweet little cafes serving only the best capuccino and gelato known to man. All this set just next to the lake making for the most romantic stroll, even if you are just by yourself, you cant help but feel the love in the italian summer air- and it makes you feel that anything at all is possible.
This to me is one of the most beautiful and captivating places in world because the moments felt here are some of the most beautiful and captivating in life.
And so all the sudden im in Italy....and every part of my body, every sense of my soul is alive- as though the mention of the name....Italia.....breathes into the spirit a sense of serenity and peace. Truly.....La Dolce Vita begins.....

(And ofcourse I am still missing my sweetheart- trying not to mention how much I would love to share all of this with him- dont wanna be too sappy.....oooooor make myself cry!!! lol)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.401s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.3143s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb