Evening in Arona


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Lake Maggiore
July 14th 2009
Published: July 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, today started as any other typical jet lagged day. I woke up at 3 pm my time after

a night of incurable insomnia. I vaguely remember the scuffling of feet over the hard

wood floors of our hotel room too early to open my eyes- i knew it was my dad going

off to his interview with Agusta. Not long afterward there was the same scufling of feet

and I dont remember much after that. Far too tired to be interested.Turns out my dad

got the job!!!! (Of course). Some deal too. Come all the way to Italy for an interview

that lasted all of 20 minutes. Hes so excited and we are so excited for him.

Back to waking up at 3 pm. Groggy. Tired. Head, back, everything aching from too

much...or maybe not enough...sleep. Forced myself to get up. Decided I would try to

look my best today and not wear the hair piece that has been saving my less- than-

fashionistic life the past couple of days. (Yep I said hair piece!!!) My brilliant plan

included showering the night before and worrying about hair straightening in the

morning. hahaha. WELL!!!

World Traveler that I am- you may expect I would know things like.......the differences

in VOLTAGE from country to country. Ok.....i know I need another plug cause the ones

here look different than the ones I have. But.....a......CONVERTER??? Whats the

difference?!?!?!? I FOUND OUT THE HARD WAY.

hmmmmm......this straightener isnt working in this plug......let me try the other

plug......oh .......look here.....it fits......POP!!

POW!!...BANG!!.....BUZZZZZZZZZ.....FIRE!!!!....lights

go out.....I feel tingley all in my left hand

and I have black soot down my thumb.......phone rings.......I think we are in

trouble......dad is pissed......hmm....someone should have told me about these

converters!!!!!! lmao.....lesson learned.

After this.....you guessed it.....the hair piece went ON, i got dressed and we FINALLY

left the hotel in search of food.

The trauma of the day completely melted away the moment I was outside breathing in

the fresh air. Everywhere you look you are reminded that this is ITALIA. Every sign is

in italian (ofcourse), the people dress differently, they speak with passion and virtue,

and i swear the sun even hangs in the sky a bit differently.

I wish that you could close your eyes to envision the setting I am about to describe. I

wish I could tell you about this evening by the lake and that my words would envelop

you in a soft whisper of a summer breeze. I wish you all were here to experience it

with me. Imagine this: Driving along a lazy 2 lane road lined with tall, lush, green

trees. The sun is cradled in the sky just so that it casts an orange glow over the

fading evening. There is an opening in the road that acts as a sort of threshold

which, once crossed, serves make all time stands absolutely still. You come around a

bend in the clearing where the road turns to cobble stone and you enter a charming

Piazza. Once out of the car and in the Piazza you cant help but to notice, as so usually

Italian, the old melded with the new. Beautiful old archetecture housing such modern

stores as coach, gucci, and colors of Bennetian. The air is crisp and as you stroll along

the piazza you are greeted by gregarious, friendly waiters hoping that you will come

dine in their cafe. You choose one nearest the lake. Sitting there under a fading

evening you get the sense that everything is in place. The wind moves lightly over your

body and through your hair as a sultry silk scarf, and it carries upon it the aroma of

Italian wines, and the sounds of la lingua di amore, and a feeling of true

bliss. Everything about this moment is perfect. Everything about this place is

perfect.

I believe that it is rare that one is able to have a moment of pure unobstructed happiness, but

if it were to be sought after, it surely would be found here. Add a glass of Lemon Cello

and you have truly found heaven.

Tomorrow I will go with my family to see the Matterhorn in Switzerland. I will blog

about it when I can!!

Love H

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb