Assisi, Florence and nearing the end of Roma


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
December 3rd 2008
Published: December 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

AssisiAssisiAssisi

Beautiful town on the hill...
Time is winding down…

These past few weeks have been arguably the most fun that I have had this entire trip. Because we are all fairly traveled out, I love just being in Rome with my roommates. We do fun things such as decorating for Christmas, story time (every night haha), and family dinners every few nights or so. Our apartment has kind of become the hangout place, which is nice and convenient for us!

One of my roommates, Kalene, and I took a daytrip to Assisi about a week ago. Assisi is a beautiful town that has a medieval feel to it; its on a hill and all the buildings are made out of white/pinkish brick. We saw the tomb of St. Francis, St. Francis Basilica, along with several other beautiful churches.
We took a 4-day trip to Florence for Thanksgiving, and had a blast with our teacher Paolo discovering the art of the Renaissance. Florence was a beautiful city…the Duomo was awesome, and of course seeing Michelangelo’s David in the Academia was a highlight.

Florence is also the leather capital of Italy, and I did some damage to my bank account in the huge open-air leather
AssisiAssisiAssisi

The Old Town Square
markets that Florence had. I finally invested in some brown leather boots (you should see the amount of Italian women wearing boots on a daily basis…the girls on my trip and I have developed a boot obsession), a purse, and some awesome Christmas presents .
For our Thanksgiving meal, we had a traditional American Thanksgiving feast, which was good, but not nearly as good as the awesome meal I would have had with my family at home. One highlight of the meal was when all of us stood up and said what we were thankful for…it was adorable. Most people said…my study abroad family…Precious? Yes.

Now we are back in Rome until we leave this crazy city in less than two weeks. We have two day trips left…one on Friday to Ostia Antica, and one on Saturday to Subiaco. I am really looking forward to Subiaco, as it is where the Benedictine monastery is, so we get to learn about the history of our college.
The fact that we are down to about 12 days or so is very bittersweet. In some ways I am ready to go home; I miss my family and friends and am traveled out, but in other ways I know that when I get home I will miss this city and the people I have grown close to.

Things left to do:
-visit the Capitoline museum
-go to the Vatican museum again (seriously amazing…I recommend this to ANYONE from an atheist to the most devout Catholic)
-See the city at night
-study for Finals (yuck)


Happy Thanksgiving from Italy!
Ciao.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

FlorenceFlorence
Florence

Duomo at night!
FlorenceFlorence
Florence

inside of the Duomo!
FlorenceFlorence
Florence

One of the bridges in Florence...my directors met on this bridge years ago!!!


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb