ROME!!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
November 6th 2008
Published: November 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey there everyone! So, this past weekend, I hopped on a plane to Rome, Italy!!! I was so amazing... For sure my favorite place! We got there on Halloween night, went and got some pizza and just hung out at and around the Hostel we were staying at. The following day, we walked all over the Colosseum. Teddy got to be a Gladiator for a day and that was fun... After the Colosseum, the tour guide that we had had really taken notice to one of the girls that I was with and because she was with four other girls, he decided to sweet talk all of us. He showed us a great little grocery store to get some fantastic Italian deli sandwiches, which were fantastic, and we had a picnic at the Colosseum. Very beautiful. We then went to the Borguese Gallery and had a great time learning about the art of Bernini mostly. It was very beautiful. That night, we got some dinner at a place that was absolutely fantastic; recommended to us by the flirty tour guide. We definately ate to our hearts' content! we then walked to the Trevi Fountain and it was so incredibly impressive. I threw a coin into the fountain, over my shoulder like the legend says... I'm now supposed to be graced with love... Seeing as I'm already pretty blessed in that area, we'll see... The following day, we went to St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican. I was so lucky, we got there in time to hear the entire blessing by the Pope, (in Latin, so it's not like I was really able to understand what was going on, but I was there and thats what counts!). I then attended mass at the Vatican and I was correct, it was the most beautiful mass I had ever attended! I loved it so much and I felt so blessed to be able to have attended. We looked around a bit and then we left and went to look at all of the monumental sights to be seen in Rome. We did pretty well too... We walked approximately 20 miles and took so many pictures. it was amazing. Monday, before we came back to Granada, we went to the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel. It was all so amazing! It is so hard for me to believe that all of the things that
The PietaThe PietaThe Pieta

Made me cry a little bit... (this is a replica... pics didnt come out of the real one too well, going to try again in Dec.)
I saw this weekend were built by such tiny people, so incredibly long ago! It was just simply amazing and I know that it will be something that I will see again, hopefully numerous times, during my lifetime! Well friends, to be honest, I'm still very overwhelmed by it all, so I can only let some of my photos do the talking for me! I hope you enjoy! Love to you all!!!
Roxi
PS: Next wednesday, the 12th of Nov. is exactly half way through my trip. It's really going by fast!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Pope!Pope!
Pope!

See that little white dot... Yep, thats the Pope!
Plaza Popolo!Plaza Popolo!
Plaza Popolo!

Yep, me riding a lion! Yea!


6th November 2008

jealous!
WOW, you have seen some pretty amazing stuff, I am so jealous! You are so very lucky to have the chance to do all of this, thank you for sharing your travels and pics. The pictures I'm sure don't show the true beauty but you took some amazing shots!! Very hard to imagine that you are already half way done...I can't believe its November already!! PS YAY for Obama!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.358s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb