The Day I nearly Got run Over by a Nun


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
June 5th 2008
Published: June 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I know, the heading sounds weird, doesn’t it? But it is true. But before I tell you that, I must say that I am in Rome. I had better tell you the things I have been doing here (Before I get to the nun part).

We took a shuttle bus into the Vatican. We had to line up in a queue for ages to get into the one and only Vatican museum. I don’t know why it’s called a museum, it should be called an art gallery. Any way, it had so many beautiful sculptures and lovely paintings. I haven’t got any idea on how they do it. I could never do anything like it. There was a painting of two people trying to touch hands. I loved the art museum.

On the very same day, we went to a big tower. We took an elevator ¾of the way up, then we had to take some stairs. On a certain part of the stairs, it was slanted! Finally, we entered the St Peters church (from the top view) and saw the beautiful church below. It is the second biggest church in the world. When we finally got to the top of the tower, I looked down at the brilliant world below. It was a fantastic view. When we finally got down, we actually entered the church (from below this time). It was very impressive.

On the next day, we went to the Collosseum. They held so many fights here. Sometimes, they actually put two slaves in, told them to fight, and whoever won got freed. There were secret trap doors in the ground that lions came out of. I feel sorry for all of those people that died back than. It was a very tiring day.

Now, the part that you have all been waiting for, The Day I Nearly got run over by a Nun. Scary. We started out the day by going to Neptune's fountain in Piazza Navona. It had a huge statue of Neptune in the middle. Next, we went to the Pantheon. Rain was coming through a hole in the roof. I tried to take a photo, but it didn’t turn out. We went to Trevi Fountain. People say that if you throw a coin in the fountain, you will return to Rome. I threw two in, I wonder if that will mean I will return to Rome twice.! Now, to the nun. As we were walking across the road, we heard a beep of a car horn. It was going well over the speed limit. We stepped away just in time. The crowd watching were about to yell out abuse, but when they saw it was a nun, they burst out with laughter, what a day!

We travelled from Rome to Pompei. They have a volcano that is still active. It erupted roughly 2000 years ago. We’ve been to the ruins where old buildings once stood. We saw a bakery. We saw some bodies of the people that died. Their bodies are covered in a thick layer of crust. Not a pretty sight. We went on a bus along the Amalfi coast . It was a wonderful view.

Thanks for reading my blog, I’ll try to keep you posted.
From Maddy



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



27th June 2008

hi
hello again that picture of the dead body gives me the creeps just lying there dead on the ground still dead i wonder what he was like when he was alive but nup he's dead iv'e been resently to two funerals. He must have been hungry when he died because it looks like he's eating the ground.

Tot: 0.3s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb