Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
August 2nd 2007
Published: June 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

StepsStepsSteps

On the Spanish Steps.
Today was a nice, relaxing day in Rome. Jimmy, George, and I slept in (skipped the Vatican tour since I had already done that) and met around 9 to make our way into the city centre. We navigated the bus/train system pretty easily and were in town in no time.

We went to visit the Cappucino Monks. There were bones there from over 40,000 corpses. They were all displayed in amazing formations with very graphic descriptions. It was amazing to see the bones displayed so brilliantly. It was more like art as opposed to the dead bodies of so many people. They were arranged to depict various biblical scenes, there were makeshift graves, and all sorts of amazing displays. Once we finished there, we went upstairs to check out the cathedral the monks used. It, like so many cathedrals throughout Europe, was beautiful. I don’t know if I’ve said it in here yet or not, but I really think if churches were this beautiful at home more people would attend church!!

After we were done there, we hopped back on the bus and went to the main shopping drag, and the boys went crazy shopping at all the big
CatacombsCatacombsCatacombs

Bones everywhere.
stores. I had on my black flippies, which gave me huge blisters. It really hurt to walk by the end of the day! It also got really warm today.

We arranged a nice dinner near the Trevi Fountain tonight. It was something we set up on our own, and there were probably about 12 of us that went (to celebrate Jesse's birthday). It was a nice dinner, as we sat outside, enjoyed the company, the wine, and the ambiance of the restaurant. The only bad thing is that they completely botched up our order. Their way of correcting it was to give us a free bottle of limoncello. It’s pretty good (but strong) stuff! One thing I’ve noticed about the menus here is that their starter is our appetizer, their appetizer is our entrée, and their main is our entrée, then dessert. They have an extra entrée with their meals. It’s different. Anyway, the group we had out for dinner tonight was a lot of fun. After our dinner, we all went out together and dance and drank the night away in Rome.

I have no concept of time here. I don’t have my cell phone here, and I don’t own a watch…So I never know when I get home, or what time it is during the day, for that matter! It’s nice to just relax about time and not have too set of a schedule.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

BelBel
Bel

Bel & I before dinner
GeorgeGeorge
George

George Margo
Nick & PhilNick & Phil
Nick & Phil

A before dinner beer.


Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb