I'm sure none of you are expecting this but . . .


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
March 6th 2008
Published: August 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

my roomies with Mauromy roomies with Mauromy roomies with Mauro

We had dinner with Mauro, and he brought us some wine during our last week.
I decided I want to do another update. My last one was so utterly incomplete, and I now feel better able to reflect a little, as well as update you all on how things are being back.

The last night in Perugia was incredibly bittersweet. We all finished our Italian finals and spent the day packing and getting ready to go. We had until 1:00 am to get to Piazza Italia to load the buses and leave. By about 11:00 we headed with our bags down to Corso Vannucci (I carried/rolled my things entirely by myself--which, if you didn't realize, is pretty impressive--I was pretty pleased with myself, and really sore) to put them in Filippo's apartment. (Filippo is Sarah's boyfriend, and he's actually visiting her in Pennsylvania this week!) Once we had our things locked away close to Piazza Italia, we wandered Corso Vannucci, stopping in bars and taking pictures of the fountain and the street. It was a strange feeling to be looking at things for the last time, and walking down those streets with a sense of finality.

We went into Merlin's (of course), and tons students from the program were there, and some of our professors stopped in to say goodbye as well, which was great! I miss Francesco, he was probably my favorite professor (though I also really liked my psychology prof), and it was such a delight to see him at the bar. One of the other professors, also an Italian, said to Stephanie "What I'm doing here? I don't know!" as he passed us holding a drink. It was adorable.

Just before midnight we headed outside to go to one of the other bars, and it started to snow! I was delighted, and it was exactly how it should have been. I love snow, and that was the only time the entire semester that it happened. And, of course, it started snowing around midnight, which is flat out poetic. We took pictures of the lights and the snow. As it got closer to 1:00 we headed to Filo's apartment to wait for him to come back and unlock it so we could get our bags. I wanted to absorb the moment, so I sat down cross-legged on Corso Vannucci and just watched the people and the snow. Some 20-something Italians thought I was so funny they all came and sat with me and had their picture taken with me. It's too bad I didn't think to get a picture of that on my camera, but there's a bunch of Italians who are probably tagged in this photo on someone's facebook, and I'm the hilarious joke of a reason why the photo was taken in the first place.

Filippo came eventually, and we began to have our tearful goodbyes. Julianna, I think, was intoxicated, and she gave a little speech that had us all in tears. Stephanie was annoyingly composed the whole time, and my emotions were all over the place. The two of us ended up in a different bus from everyone else, which was alright because we just slept on the three hour ride to Rome. In some ways it was nice to have some last moments with her, as she was my closest friend abroad. As we pulled out of Piazza Italia, waving goodbye to some of the people who worked for our program, I felt full of excitement and sadness that that chapter of my life was coming to such a definite close. I watched the snow (which was falling heavily and a thin layer began to
Francesco B!Francesco B!Francesco B!

This is my Italian professor. He was fantastic.
cover the street) swirl up around the bus and play off the lights all over that little Umbrian hill town.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Corso VannucciCorso Vannucci
Corso Vannucci

I was sitting on the road taking pictures and appreciating the snow.
MSP airportMSP airport
MSP airport

I broke down when I saw Betsy.


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb