I have been busy! quick update


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
October 8th 2007
Published: October 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

What are you looking atWhat are you looking atWhat are you looking at

My dinner the first night in Siena was in a great little family restaurant.
All who have been rading and wondering what country am in in now or if I am still alive, here is a quick update.

I have seen soooo much and been loving it, meeting people and my mom has joined me for a portion of my journey. So I will give you a brief run down until I have the chance again to elaborate.

Siena was a great historic town and I really enjoyed my time there. Our room was charming and breakfast was brought to us every morning in our room. We went on a Chianti tour, wine tasting. We explored most parts of this medieval town. When we left, we moved on to Florence to meet my mom. I love Florence but much quicker pace after being in Como and Siena! Once I fianlly managed to get a hold of my mom (my phone was not working and she could't reach us), we met her at the hotel which was sort of a dive, but near the train station. She was jet-lagged but decided to walk around with us a bit to explorw. We went to the Duomo and the museum. The museum was a bit sleepy
Our adorable room filled with artOur adorable room filled with artOur adorable room filled with art

This room was right outside our bedroom
for her, so she headed back to her room for a siesta. Perfect for Italy! Duong and I continued to walk more and eventaully to the push carts to buy leather products. I bought a purse, he bought a briefcase type thing. We went back to our hotel to meet mom and Duong was leaving to go back to his life in Belgium--our time travelling togethere has come to an end. Now, I would be travelling with mom.

That night we went to Il Latini which I was at in 2005 and LOVED it--what a dining experience. We met more people and it turned out to be a great night with lots and lots of food, drinks and conversation. We were there for over three hours!! Met a couple from Sydney AUS, Spain, a local Italian who had the biggest nose I have even seen, and finally the end of the evening a gentleman from New York ate with us!! Good times!! Of course after that we were beat!! So we went to bed after her first night in Europe! Since there is so much to see in Florence, we decided to stay another night. We moved hotels since
Piazza del CampoPiazza del CampoPiazza del Campo

This is a the historic center of Siena and where Palio is held twice a year
our shower was just part of the bathroom, no door and sprayed water EVERYWHERE!! Unfortunately, the next hotel had an ok shower, but was noisy!! We were right next to the street.

After a pretty lame night's sleep, we ventured out to see Florence in a day!

I will update more from there in another blog.....Ciao!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

A view from Torre del Mangia A view from Torre del Mangia
A view from Torre del Mangia

This tower was built in 1338-48 and finished just before the black death struck
A view of TuscanyA view of Tuscany
A view of Tuscany

The Torre del Mangia was named after the first bellringer Mangiaguadagni ("he who eats all he earns")
View of CampoView of Campo
View of Campo

from the tower
Our Chianti tourOur Chianti tour
Our Chianti tour

Some vineyards
Tuscany vineyard we touredTuscany vineyard we toured
Tuscany vineyard we toured

Wine tasting WAS included
Yum! GrapesYum! Grapes
Yum! Grapes

These were so good!
A very, very, very small townA very, very, very small town
A very, very, very small town

We stopped in this small Tuscan village..felt like were invading


11th October 2007

Awesome
Hey Julie....the trip sounds like its going great!! I love all the pictures and blog postings you've been writing...keep it up :)

Tot: 0.421s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb