There's no malaria in Italy, right?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
September 11th 2007
Published: September 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I boarded the plane in Venice at 11:25, 1 hour late. As I sat reading my book, I realized I was scratching a spot on my arm. Damn mosquitoes. A few minutes later, my shoulder began to itch. I reached under the collar of my shirt to find the mother of all mosquito bites on my right shoulder. Within the next few hours, 4 more bites appeared on my shoulder, 1 on my lower back, 1 on my hip, 2 more on my arm, and 4 on my face. I felt like a flea-ridden dog scratching incessantly. Nearly 12 hours later, during a stop-over in Bangkok, I was going mad from the itchiness. I sat down to have some breakfast and my face felt flushed. Shit! I had stopped taking my malaria pills a few weeks ago. But there is no malaria in Italy, right?

What are the chances there would be a pharmacy at the Bangkok airport selling anti-itch cream? Pretty darn good chances - I found one on the top level. My fever has gone down and the itching has been temporarily relieved but it takes 2 weeks for malaria to show up so - keep your fingers crossed!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb