General notes near Naples


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
August 11th 2005
Published: August 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,
I am currently in Finland but had just a few general thoughts from the time in Italy.

First of all there is an amazing feature. Every thing is just 100 meters down the road. My hotel, the hardware store I was looking for, the place to buy bus tickets. Ask for directions and it is just 100m down on the left. Walk 300 meters and ask again, yup just 100m down on the left. Finally I rented a scooter and the hotel is actually just shy of 2km away. Lesson well learned.

One of the main frustrations I had in Naples was the difficulty doing something as riding the bus as an outsider. There is a massive bus and train station combined. You actually buy your ticket for the bus at newspaper stands and not at the ticket counters in the station. There were no signs letting me know this. I spent an hour in like for a train ticket to Pompeii to have the tell me I needed to buy it downstairs and again there was no signage stating there where any ticket sales downstairs let alone to Pompeii where thousands travel each day. It wears on ones patience to say the least.

I would say Lonely Planet totally missed on the recommendations for the Naples area. It raves about Naples and warns away from Capri, Sorrento, and the Amalfi coast and my experiance and everyone that I talked too would strongly say the exact opposite.

The weather here in Finland is cool and rainly right now, but the piece and quite is so very nice.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.364s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb