Very clean


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
August 12th 2005
Published: August 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,
Today is my third day in Finland and tonight I am going to check out the night life including and arctic bar where the wall and tables are all made of solid ice. I am really enjoying my time here even though the weather has been around 15c and rain on and off again. It looks to be clearing up now a little though.
This is the cleanest place I have been to I think. It is very organized and modern. Of course everyone seems to have a Nokia cell phone and a sauna which I think is great. There seems to be a good amount of live music and I look forward to that tonight. The best part for me is the peace of being able to relax since I am staying in a home and it isn't killing my budget, I get to see into the world of a Finn in daily life, get local advice and I get to talk with someone at lenght!!

I didn't realize how difficult the solo aspect of the trip would be when in a place as an outsider. It is worse in some cultures like Italy because they tend to keep their group of freinds guarded and aren't too interested in getting to know someone in a short while. At least that was my experiance. I have been having the best times when I am with a host family or person. Those times have proven much more enjoyable than the monuments, or views or anything else impersonal.

Tomorrow I turn 30 and we are going to visit an old town Porvoo for the day. I then Sunday or Monday I am going to pay a visit to Estonia. I would have liked to visit St. Petersburg, but I don't have time to get a visa.

Garret

Advertisement



12th August 2005

Happy Birthday!
I read somewhere that it is traditional in Finland for people to whisper "Golden Thoughts" to you on your birthday. Don't let them forget...
13th August 2005

....
Just wanted to wish you a very happy 30th birthday. I'm so glad you're able to experience all of this. If there's a perfect way to spend any birthday, I think you're doing it.:) And I love all your pictures...it makes it easier to dream. take care
16th August 2005

huomenta
Hi. Im from Finland and i like to thank you for your beatiful stories about Finland.By the way, My title `´huomenta´´ means good morning(=

Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb